Antwain Robinson Named to Ted Hendricks Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore Antwain Robinson has been added to the national watch list for the 2006 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award it was announced by the Ted Hendricks Foundation this week.

Robinson is one of 28 players, including one of four sophomores, on the mid-season watch list. The list will be trimmed to five or six finalists in November with the final vote coming on Dec. 4. The 2006 Hendricks Award winner will be announced on Dec. 6.

“People around the country have noticed the talented players we have on our defensive line,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “They have played well individually and as a unit. Antwain is one of those talented players that still has some un-tapped potential. If he will keep coming, he has a chance to be one of the best defensive ends in the Southeastern Conference and the nation.”

Robinson has racked up 39 tackles this season including 7.5 tackles for loss (-48) and 5.5 sacks (-44). His 0.92 sack average per game leads the SEC and ranks 15th in the nation. The Little Rock, Ark., native also ranks fifth in the SEC with 1.25 tackles for loss per game. He has tallied six or more tackles in five of the six games he has played in for the Hogs this season including eight stops against No. 3 Southern California and No. 22 Alabama.

Previous Hendricks Award recipients include Terrell Suggs of Arizona State (2002), David Pollack of Georgia (2003, ‘04) and Elvis Dumervil of Louisville (2005).

The Hendricks Mid-Season Watch List

Victor Abiamiri, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-4, 260

Gaines Adams, Clemson, Sr., 6-5, 265

Daniel Bazuin, Central Michigan, Sr., 6-3, 265

Tommy Blake, TCU, Jr., 6-3, 250

Mkristo Bruce, Washington State, Sr., 6-7, 249

Ian Campbell, Kansas State, So., 6-5, 232

The Hendricks Mid-Season Watch ListContinued

Tim Crowder, Texas, Sr., 6-4, 270

Bruce Davis, UCLA, Sr., 6-3, 237

Keyunta Dawson, Texas Tech, SR, 6-3, 254

Victor DeGrate, Oklahoma State, Sr., 6-3, 250

Wallace Gilberry, Alabama, Jr., 6-2, 250

Quentin Groves, Auburn, Jr., 6-3, 250

Derrick Harvey, Florida, So., 6-5, 262

Justin Hickman, UCLA, Sr., 6-2, 263

Kenny Iwebema, Iowa, Jr., 6-4, 255

Tyson Jackson, LSU, Jr., 6-5, 292

Chris Long, Virginia, Jr., 6-4, 275

Jameel McClain, Syracuse, Jr., 6-1, 252

Larry McSwain, UAB, Sr., 6-1, 255

J.J. Milan, Nevada, Sr., 6-5, 270

Jay Moore, Nebraska, Sr., 6-4, 270

Jarvis Moss, Florida, So., 6-6, 250

Antwain Robinson, Arkansas, So., 6-3, 255

Justin Rogers, SMU, Sr., 6-4, 250

Brian Smith, Missouri, Sr., 6-4, 230

Anthony Spencer, Purdue, Sr., 6-3, 250

LaMarr Woodley, Michigan, Sr., 6-2, 265

Abraham Wright, Colorado, Jr., 6-3, 245