Arkansas Earns USTFCCCA All-Academic Accolades

NEW ORLEANS – The Arkansas women’s cross country team was named one of the top scholarly programs in the country by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association for posting a cumulative team GPA of 3.60 Arkansas was one of 427 teams to receive the All-Academic Team acknowledgment.

Sydney Brown, Lauren Gregory, Micah Huckabee, Maddy Reed, Katrina Robinson, Carina Viljoen, and Taylor Werner picked up individual accolades for their efforts in the classroom as well as athletic accomplishments as all seven were named to the student-athlete All-Academic Team – the most individuals amongst Division I women’s programs.

There were 267 student-athletes who earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors with women accounting for 58.4 percent of the total (156). Arkansas led all programs with 13 combined individuals honored, including all seven of its women.

In order to qualify for All-Academic distinction, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale and finish in the top-25 (or 10 percent) at the NCAA Regional Championships or as an All-American at the NCAA Championships.

In addition to scholastic recognition from the national governing body of cross country and track and field (USTFCCCA) several Razorbacks were also honored by the SEC named to the recently announced conference honor roll.

Nineteen (19) members (full list below) of head coach Lance Harter’s squad notched a GPA of 3.00 or above to earn a place among the SEC’s academic leaders.

2018 Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll

Payton Brown – W Cross Country – Childhood Education
Sydney Brown – W Cross Country – Elementary Education
Lauren Campbell – W Cross Country – History/International Studies
Devin Clark – W Cross Country – Kinesiology: Exercise Science
Ashton Endsley – W Cross Country – International Business: Finance
Abbigail Gray – W Cross Country – Journalism: AD/PR
Lauren Gregory – W Cross Country – Biological Engineering
Micah Huckabee – W Cross Country – Kinesiology: Exercise Science
Tess Iler – W Cross Country – Marketing
Emily Jeacock – W Cross Country – Public Health
Kristen Larkan – W Cross Country – History
Rachel Nichwitz – W Cross Country – Kinesiology: Exercise Science
Madeleine Reed – W Cross Country – Architectural Studies
Joy Ripslinger – W Cross Country – Communication
Alex Ritchey – W Cross Country – Accounting
Kailee Sawyer – W Cross Country – Kinesiology: Exercise Science
Greta Taylor – W Cross Country – Childhood Education
Carina Viljoen – W Cross Country – Accounting
Taylor Werner – W Cross Country – Kinesiology: Exercise Science

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.