Dynamic Duo Earns More Recognition

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Senior Jonathan Williams and junior Alex Collins have been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list, presented annually to the nation’s top running back. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced the preseason candidates on Thursday morning.

Arkansas is one of just three schools to have two players on the 68-man list and the only SEC school to be represented twice.

Williams enters the 2015 season as Arkansas’ No. 10 all-time leading rusher with 2,321 career rushing yards. His 5.72 career yards per rush average ranks sixth all-time at Arkansas and his 1,190 rushing yards in 2014 was the eighth-best single-season mark in Razorback history. After contemplating entering the 2015 NFL Draft, Williams returned to Arkansas for his senior season and promises to be one of the top running backs in the nation.

Collins is coming off back-to-back 1,000-yard seasons and joins Darren McFadden as the only two Razorbacks to begin their careers with consecutive 1,000-yard campaigns. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla. native ranks 14th in school history with 2,126 career rushing yards after just two seasons.

The dynamic duo were the only pair of teammates to each top 1,000 rushing yards in 2014.

The Razorbacks have a strong history with the Doak Walker Award as McFadden earned the honor in 2006 and 2007 after his record-breaking performances both seasons.

The Doak Walker Award will name 10 semifinalists on Nov. 18 and three finalists on Nov. 24. The recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 10 on ESPN.

2015 Preseason Watch Lists
Maxwell Award – Jonathan Williams, Alex Collins
John Mackey Award – Hunter Henry
Outland Trophy – Denver Kirkland, Sebastian Tretola
Rimington Trophy – Mitch Smothers
Butkus Award – Brooks Ellis
Wuerffel Trophy – Brooks Ellis
Doak Walker Award – Jonathan Williams, Alex Collins