Former Track Hogs Honored and Inducted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Kenny Evans (1998-2001) and Bill Runyan (1958-62), former Arkansas track and field standouts, were announced as inductees into the 13th Annual Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame. They were honored on Sat., June 2, at 6:30 p.m., in North Little Rock, Ark.

One of the greatest high jumpers to come out of Arkansas, Evans was an eight-time All-American and 1998 NCAA Indoor High Jump Champion. He was a three-time SEC Indoor high jump champion in 1999(7‑4.5), 2000 (7-0.5) and 2001 (7-1.75) and the 1998 SEC Outdoor high jump champion.

He cleared his career best of 7-7 at the 2000 NCAA Indoor Championships. Evans helped contribute to eight national championship teams, including the 1998-99 squad the claimed UA’s fifth NCAA triple crown. He still holds the outdoor school record in the high jump at 7­-6.5. He represented the United States in the high jump at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia.

Runyan lettered at the University of Arkansas and, in 1959, won the Southwest Conference freshman quarter mile in 48.9. During that year, he also placed third in the Fort Worth Invitational in the 440-yard dash. He went on to run on the mile relay team and, in 1961 as a junior, he was the lead-off leg of the Distance Medley Relay at the Kansas Relays where his team placed third. He received a freshman numeral in 1959, lettered his next three years and in 1962 as a senior was elected captain. He was inducted into the Ashley County Sports Hall of Fame in February 2005.

Other inductees for the Class of 2007 include Charles M. Adcock, Jay Flanigan, Damon Martin, Richard Martin, Jr., and Ken Stephens.