Robert Black

Harter and Scott Collect Top SEC Awards

BIRMINGHAM – Arkansas women’s cross country head coach Lance Harter and redshirt senior Dominique Scott have been selected as the 2015 SEC Coach and Runner of the Year, respectively. The conference made the announcement on Tuesday, honoring the accomplished pair.

This is the 16th honor for Harter and the third for Scott within cross country. The coach and student-athlete duo swept the award through all three seasons (cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field) last year to earn individual Triple Crown statuses.

As one of the most successful coaches in SEC history, Harter is responsible for building Arkansas into a distance powerhouse. Twenty-one out of the 38 best SEC finishers at the NCAA championships since 1991 were trained by Harter, three of whom finished within the top three at the national meet.

Scott put forth a tremendous effort in her final cross country conference championship by running a 19.23.60 6K, to win her third-consecutive individual title and nearly meeting her 6K personal best. The two-time All-American then entered SEC history as the only runner to win three solo and team titles.

Using the momentum from the conference win, Arkansas looks to earn the program’s 20th regional title on Friday, Nov. 13 at the 2015 NCAA South Central Regional Championships. The race will kick-off at 10 a.m. CST in College Station, Texas.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.