Harter Recipient of TAFWA Sam Skinner Memorial Award

EUGENE, Ore. – In the midst of competition at the NCAA Championship, Lance Harter has received the Track and Field Writers of America’s Sam Skinner Memorial Award. The award is given to an administrator, athlete, coach or anyone who has supported the sport of track & field at an institution by exhibiting exemplary cooperation with the media.

This is Harter’s third post-season award, having already collected Coach of the Year honors for the SEC and USTFCCCA South Central region. Currently in his 25th season coaching the Arkansas women, Harter guided the Razorbacks to their fifth SEC title which was highlighted with six first-place performances from Dominique Scott at 1,500 and 5,000 meters,  Taylor Ellis-Watson at 400m, Diane Robison at 10,000 meters, Jessica Kamilos in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and Sandi Morris in the pole vault.

In addition to their conference title, the program’s outdoor campaign has included multiple school record-breaking efforts from Chrishuna Williams at 800 meter, Scott at both 5,000 and 10,000 meter and a collegiate record from Morris in the pole vault at 4.72m/15-5.75.

Following the first day of competition at the national meet, the Razorbacks enter the final day in second place with 22 points. Arkansas has four qualifiers in Saturday’s championship events with Ellis-Watson at 400 meters, Williams at 800 meters, Scott at 5,000 meters and the team’s 4×400-meter relay of Ellis-Watson, Williams, Brianna Swinton and Regine Williams.

NCAA Championships Broadcast Schedule (All times central)

Saturday, June 13

Field Events – 3:30 p.m. | ESPN3

Women’s Finals – 4 p.m. | ESPN2

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.