Lahay named honorary captain

The University of Arkansas is proud to announce former Razorback Bruce Lahay as the Razorback honorary captain for the Eastern Michigan football game. The Razorbacks host Eastern Michigan in a nationally televised game on ESPNU at 6 p.m. on Saturday at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium. The University of Arkansas Athletic Department is presenting an honorary captain for each Fayetteville home game this season. Each honorary captain is recognized prior to the game on the field, on the RazorVision and accompanies the Razorback captains to midfield for the coin toss. The honorary captain also appears at the Legends Tent in the AT&T Trough approximately 90 minutes before game time. Lahay lettered at the University of Arkansas in 1978, 1979 and in 1981. He was a first team All-America selection and All-Southwest Conference choice in 1981. He punted the ball 129 times for 5,011 yards, for a career average of 38.8 yards. He also connected on 19-of-24 field goal attempts for a .792 percentage. The 19 field goals are tied for third all-time on the Razorback season list. Recruited out of St. Louis, Lahay’s four field goals against Texas Tech in 1981 are tied for the third-highest single-game total in school history. He finished the 1981 season with 88 points scored on 19 field goals and 31 point after touchdowns.