Robert Black

Lawson Leads Arkansas All-American Tally

NEW ORLEANS – Coming off its national runner-up finish at the 2016 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championship, the Arkansas men’s track and field team has earned 18 All-America honors, announced Monday afternoon by the USTFCCCA.

Eleven of the Razorbacks’ 18 selections received first team recognition led by five-time NCAA national champion Jarrion Lawson, who accumulated four on his own.

Lawson, now a 19-time All-American, put on a display of historic proportions at the outdoor national meet bulldozing his way to three gold medals with event wins in the 100-meter dash, 200 and long jump. The Texarkana, Texas, native was the top individual scorer of the meet becoming the ‘modern day’ NCAA Outdoor Championship points leader with his total of 31.5 eclipsing Razorback legend Mike Conley’s former best by 2.75 points.

This is the second-consecutive year Lawson has received four All-America accolades.

In addition to the Bowerman Watch List selection, Arkansas’ first team All-America list includes three-time recipient Kenzo Cotton (100, 200 and 400 relay), Gabe Gonzalez (10,000), Kemar Mowatt (400 relay), Frankline Tonui (3K steeplechase) and Josh Washington (400 relay).

Seven Razorbacks including Larry Donald (400 hurdles), Obi Igbokwe (1,600 relay), Eric Janise (1,600 relay), Mowatt (1,600 relay), Jamarco Stephen (1,600 relay), Andreas Trajkovski (long jump) and Marqueze Washington (100) were selected as second team All-Americans for exceptional efforts at the NCAA meet in their respective events.

2016 USTFCCCA All-Americans

First Team
Kenzo Cotton – 100, 200, 400 relay
Gabe Gonzalez – 10,000
Jarrion Lawson – 100, 200, 400 relay, long jump
Kemar Mowatt – 400 relay
Frankline Tonui – 3K steeplechase
Josh Washington – 400 relay

Second Team
Larry Donald – 400 hurdles
Obi Igbokwe – 1,600 relay
Eric Janise – 1,600 relay
Mowatt – 1,600 relay
Jamarco Stephen – 1,600 relay
Andreas Trajkovski – long jump
Marqueze Washington – 100

Honorable Mention
Brad Culp – Decathlon
Obi Igbokwe – 400
Derek Jacobus – Decathlon
Kurt Jenner – Long Jump
Ken LeGassey – High Jump
Clive Pullen – Triple Jump
Ryan Thomas – 800
Marqueze Washington – 200

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.