No. 3 Women's @RazorbackTF Set to Compete at the New Mexico Classic

Albuquerque, N.M. – After a dominating performance at the Razorback Invitational at the Randal Tyson Track Center last weekend, the No. 3 Arkansas women’s track and field team will send six student-athletes out west to compete in the New Mexico Classic (Feb 6-7).



Friday-Saturday, Feb. 6-7, 2015


Division I: Arizona, No. 3 Arkansas, BYU, Fresno State, LSU, New Mexico, New Mexico State, North Texas, Stephen F. Austin, No. 7 Texas, No. 18 Texas Tech, UC Davis, No. 16 UCLA, UNLV, Utah, Utah State, Washington

Non-Division I: Abilene Christian, Academy of Art, Adams State, Angelo State, CSU Pueblo, Eastern New Mexico, Langston, Metro State, New Mexico Highlands, New Mexico Junior College, South Plains Junior College, West Texas A&M, Western Texas


Albuquerque Convention Center | Albuquerque, N.M.


Schedule of Events/Meet Information | Heat Sheets



Twitter  |  Facebook  |  #TrackCapitalOfTheWorld

Senior Tamara Myers will compete in the 60 meter dash and the long jump, while sophomore Regine Williams will compete in the 60 meter dash and the 200 meter. The pole vault quartet of senior Sandi Morris, juniors Ariel Voskamp and Megan Zimlich and freshman Desiree Freier will also compete in Albuquerque.

Arkansas is among 17 Division I universities scheduled to compete this weekend. The No. 3 Razorbacks will be joined by four teams ranked in the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) NCAA Division I Indoor Team Top 25 (released on Feb. 2), including No. No. 7 Texas, No. 16 UCLA, No. 18 Texas Tech, Arizona, BYU, Fresno State, LSU, New Mexico, New Mexico State, North Texas, Stephen F. Austin, UC Davis, UNLV, Utah, Utah State and Washington.

For the latest information on Arkansas women’s track and field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

After the New Mexico Classic, the Razorbacks will return home to host a talented field in the 2015 Tyson Invitational (Feb. 13-14) at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

THE SHOWDOWN – #YearOfTheVault
Demi Payne (SFA) vs. Sandi Morris vs. Kaitlin Petrillose (Texas) vs. the collegiate pole vault record.

After weeks of separate collegiate record chases around the country, the undisputed “match-up of the year” is finally happening this weekend. Collegiate record-holder Demi Payne of Stephen F. Austin will take on former collegiate record-holders Sandi Morris and Kaitlin Petrillose of Texas – who will all be shooting for the magical 4.76m mark.

That’s one centimeter better than Payne’s current 4.75m record, which she achieved in Albuquerque Convention Center two weekends ago. Morris’ season-best is 4.65m from last weekend, the best non-altitude performance in collegiate history.

Payne and Morris are both in excellent form, with both having taken very good attempts at 4.76m just last weekend and both combining for the top six marks in collegiate history over the past month. Petrillose, last year’s national champion with a then-collegiate record 4.60m, will look to get back on track and clear 14 feet for the first time this season.

Here’s the scheduled height progression, beginning at 14-11½ (4.56m):
14-11½ (4.56m)
15-3½ (4.66m)
15-5½ (4.71m)
15-7¼ (4.76m) [New Collegiate Record]



Fayetteville, the “Track Capital of the World”, will be at the center of the track and field universe on the weekend of March 13-14 as the Razorbacks will host the 2015 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships at the Randal Tyson Track Center, the home of the “Fastest Indoor Track in the World”. Since the facility’s opening in 2000, Arkansas and the Randal Tyson Track Center have hosted the event 11 times, including nine straight seasons and 11 of the last 13 championships.

A two-day, all-session ticket to the NCAA Indoor Championships is $40 for reserved seating and $30 for general admission adult ticket.

Season tickets and NCAA all-session passes are available online at HERE, by contacting the Razorback Athletics Ticket Center via phone at (800) 982-HOGS or in person at the Razorback Athletics Ticket Center, located just east of Baum Stadium at 1295 S. Razorback Rd. in Fayetteville.