No. 8 Razorbacks Take Home 23rd SEC Crown

Arkansas Results – 10.30

SEC Championships Results

COLLEGE STATION, Texas. – The University of Arkansas men’s cross country team earned the program’s 23rd SEC title on Friday morning at the Dale Watts Cross Country Course.

The Razorbacks were led by redshirt junior, Christian Heymsfield who finished second in a personal best 23:25.20. Frankline Tonui and Alex George also set new PRs finishing third and fifth respectively in 23:35.50 and 23:36.20. Remaining a tight knit unit throughout the duration of the course the Arkansas’ top seven all finished with the top 20 with Austen Dalquist in sixth (23:36.20), Gabe Gonzalez in ninth (23:47.60), Jack Bruce in 10th (23:49.00) and Cale Wallace in 17th (24:04.20).

Arkansas controlled the race from the start and went on to dominate their rivals scoring just 10 points shy of a perfect score in route to their victory. Host, Texas A&M finished second with a score of 98. The title is the sixth-consecutive cross country conference victor for head coach Chris Bucknam.

With victory already in hand Arkansas’ eighth and ninth runners Ethan Moehn and Cameron Griffith remained steadfast in their conviction to finish well, Moehn coming through in the top-40 and Griffith crossing as the seventh best freshman in the field.

Heymsfield, Tonui, George and Dalquist earned first team All-SEC honors while Gonzalez and Bruce were named to the second team. Griffith all was rewarded for his efforts and selected for the SEC All-Freshman team.

The Razorbacks return to College Station in two weeks for the NCAA South Central Region Championships looking to once again defend their title and prepare for the national meet.

First Team All-SEC
Christian Heymsfield
Frankline Tonui
Alex George
Austen Dalquist

Second Team All-SEC
Gabe Gonzalez
Jack Bruce

SEC All-Freshman Team
Cameron Griffith

SEC Championships 8K Results – 1st of 13
1. Christian Heymsfield (2) – 23:25.20
2. Frankline Tonui (3) – 23:35.50
3. Alex George (5) – 23:36.20
4. Austen Dalquist (6) – 23:36.20
5. Gabe Gonzalez (9) – 23:47.60
6. Jack Bruce (10) – 23:49.00
7. Cale Wallace (17) – 24:04.20
8. Ethan Moehn (40) – 24:47.60
9. Cameron Griffith (61) – 25:05.40

2015 Arkansas Cross Country Schedule
Tuesday, Sept. 1, Cowboy Preview | Stillwater, Okla. | 4th of 4
Saturday, Sept. 19, Iona Meet of Champions | New York, N.Y. | 2nd of 10
Saturday, Oct. 3, Chile Pepper Festival | Fayetteville, Ark. | 1st of 15
Friday, Oct. 16, Pre-Nationals | Louisville Ky. | 3rd of 42
Friday, Oct. 30, SEC Championships | College Station, Texas | 1st of 13
Friday, Nov. 13, NCAA South Central Regional | College Station, Texas
Saturday, Nov. 21, NCAA Championships | Louisville, Ky.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.