Update: No. 5 MTR at NCAA West Prelims

Meet Preview | Live Results | Revised Meet Schedule | Video Coverage


3:15 p.m.

4×400-meter relay (ninth place, 3:05.62)

  • In the final running event of the weekend, the team of Obi Igbokwe, Kenzo Cotton, Eric Janise and Jamarco Stephen finished second in heat two with an automatic-qualifying and season-best time of 3:05.62. The performance marked the Razorbacks’ 20th national entry for the upcoming NCAA meet in Eugene.

1:20 p.m.

Jarrion Lawson (200 meters – second place, 20.17) | Kenzo Cotton (200 meters – third place, 20.35) | Marqueze Washington (200 meters – fourth place, 20.54)

  • Just over 24 hours after qualifying at 100 meters, the trio of Lawson, Cotton and Washington added the 200 meters to their national duties at the NCAA meet in Eugene. This marks Lawson’s third individual event having previously qualified in the long jump Friday. All three ran legs on last year’s NCAA champion 4×100-meter relay team.

11:05 a.m.

Clive Pullen (triple jump – sixth place, 16.09m/52-9.5)

  • SEC champion needs just one jump to secure a spot among the top 12 moving on to Eugene; Pullen won the NCAA indoor title. The outdoor triple jump final will be Friday, June 10.

10:25 a.m.

4×100-meter relay (third place, 39.45)

  • The team of Kenzo Cotton, Jarrion Lawson, Davon Anderson and Josh Washington passed the baton around the track in a time of 39.45 to secure a spot at the NCAA Championships; Arkansas is the defending national champion in the event.


7:10 p.m.

Frankline Tonui (3,000m steeplechase – 11th place, 8:49.98)

  • Tonui finished fifth in the final heat of the steeplechase and his time of 8:49.98 was enough to secure the 11th-fastest qualifying effort. He moves on to the national meet and the semifinal round which will be run Wednesday, June 8.

Men’s schedule is now complete for the day. The Razorback men collected 12 qualifiers in eight events during Friday’s competition. Overall, Arkansas now has 14 qualifiers for the NCAA Championships coupled with two entries in the decathlon. Saturday’s action gets going at 10 a.m. with the quarterfinal round of the 4×100-meter relays.

6:25 p.m.

Ken LeGassey (high jump – T-first place, 2.16m/7-1)

  • LeGassey was one of three in the field with no misses during the competition with a final clearance of 2.16m/7-1 to secure his spot at the national meet in Eugene; he’s making his third-consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships. Due to inclement weather, the event was held indoors. The men’s high jump final is scheduled for Friday, June 10.

1:45 p.m.

Weather delay (lightning) in Lawrence so there is a mandatory 30-minute pause (at minimum) in the action; will update when more details become available. Frankline Tonui is still to compete in the final heat of the 3,000-meter steeplechase while the Razorback men also have competitors to come in the high jump at 2:30 p.m. and discus at 5:30 p.m.

12:45 p.m.

Larry Donald (400m hurdles – seventh place, 51.17)

  • Entering the meet as the No. 12 qualifier, Donald improved his position with a 51.17 showing in a runner-up finish in the opening heat which stood as the seventh-fastest time of the quarterfinal round. The opening round at the national meet in Eugene is set for Wednesday, June 8.

11:50 a.m.

Ryan Thomas (800 meters – 11th place, 1:48.77)

  • Thomas finished third in heat three of six and held on for the final at-large qualifying time to advance to Eugene; the semifinal round will be contested Wednesday, June 8 at Hayward Field.

11:25 a.m.

Jarrion Lawson (long jump – first place, 7.92m/26-0) | Kurt Jenner (long jump – sixth place, 7.59m/24-11) | Andreas Trajkovski (long jump – seventh place, 7.58m/24-10.5)

  • Second event trio of the day advances with Lawson securing his second national qualifier of the day while Jenner and Trajkovski both come out of the third flight to punch their tickets to the NCAA Championships. The long jump final will be contested Wednesday, June 8 in Eugene.

11:00 a.m.

Obi Igbokwe (400 meters – fifth place, 46.32)

  • Running in the fifth of six heats, Igbokwe ran the fastest at-large time and finished fifth overall in the quarterfinal round to secure his spot at the national meet in Eugene. With his individual ticket punched, he could return to the track Saturday for relay duties.

10:05 a.m.

Marqueze Washington (100 meters – first place, 10.20) | Kenzo Cotton (100 meters – fifth place, 10.25) | Jarrion Lawson (100 meters – eighth place, 10.29)

  • The Razorback men pick up three qualifiers at 100 meters with Washington and Lawson picking up automatic bids by winning their heats and Cotton posting the fastest at-large time in the quarterfinal round; Lawson now moves over to the long jump where he’ll compete in the fourth flight.

9:15 a.m.

Gabe Gonzalez (10,000 meters – fourth place, 29:52.76)

  • Coming into the meet with the eighth-fastest time in the region, Gonzalez posted the first qualifying effort of the weekend for the Razorback men with a fourth-place finish at 10,000 meters; the national final for the 10K will be contested Wednesday, June 8 in Eugene.


Meet Update: The meet will resume on Friday, May 27 starting with the women’s 10K at 8:00 a.m. with men’s race following at 8:40 a.m. All events will be ran as a quarterfinal. Advancement in each event will proceed as follows:

  • The 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, plus hurdles, the heat winner and the next 6 fastest times advance.
  • The 1,500, the top 2 plus the next four fastest times advance.

All other running events advance as printed on the original heat sheets.

Both the men’s and women’s pole vault as well as the men’s and women’s high jump will be contested indoors at Anschutz Sports Pavilion: Address: 1575 Irving Hill Rd, Lawrence, KS 66045

Field events have begun at the NCAA West Preliminary at Rock Chalk Park in Lawrence, Kansas. Over the next three days, the No. 5 Razorbacks will be looking to collect qualifiers for the 2016 NCAA Championships with the top 12 in each event advancing to the national meet which will be contested June 8-11 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore. Bookmark this page for an updated running list of the team’s qualifiers.

For further coverage including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Snapchat and Twitter.