Razorback Men’s Golf Tees It Up In Stillwater

STILLWATER, Okla. – Postseason action continues for head coach Brad McMakin and the University of Arkansas men’s golf team this week as they travel to Stillwater, Oklahoma, for the 2018 NCAA Championship at Karsten Creek Golf Club.

Arkansas is making the program’s 22nd NCAA Championship appearance and its sixth as a team under McMakin. Razorback sophomore Mason Overstreet advanced to the NCAA Championship last year and played to a runner-up finish at Rich Harvest Farms. Senior Alvaro Ortiz is the only other Razorback with NCAA Championship experience. Ortiz advanced with the team in 2016.

NCAA Information
Date: May 24-29, 2018
Location: Stillwater, Okla.
Golf Course: Karsten Creek Golf Club | Par 72 | 7,460 yards
Live Scoring: Golfstat.com

Arkansas reached the NCAA Championship behind a dramatic third-round rally at the NCAA Norman Regional last week. Ortiz posted a 4-under on his last seven holes including an eagle on a par 3 helping the Razorbacks move up from 10th to a T-4th to move on.

The rest of the Arkansas’ lineup includes William Buhl, Luis Garza and Tyson Reeder. Landon Ernst will be traveling as an alternate. The Razorbacks open round one on Friday at 7 a.m. pairing with Stanford and Arizona State beginning from hole No. 10. The field flips on Saturday and Arkansas begins at 12:20 p.m. from the first tee.

Finals play consists of three days of stroke play on Friday, May 25 through Sunday, May 27 (54 holes), after which the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will be determined. That is followed by a final day of 18 holes of stroke play on Monday, May 28 to determine the top eight teams that will advance to match play as well as the 72-hole individual champion. The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format that will consist of quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, May 29, followed by finals on Wednesday, May 30.

Arkansas Lineup

Alvaro OrtizSr.70.8
Mason OverstreetSo.71.2
William BuhlSo.72.4
Luis GarzaSo.72.5
Tyson ReederRSo.74.6
Landon Earnst (alt)Fr.75.3

Championship Notes:
• The Razorbacks are making their 22nd NCAA Championship team appearance and the six as a team under Brad McMakin.
• Mason Overstreet advanced to the NCAA Championship as an individual last season. He played to a runner-up finish at Rich Harvest Farms.
• Arkansas’ best NCAA Championship finish came in 2009, when it finished runner-up to Texas A&M in the first year of match play.
• Alvaro Ortiz is the only other Razorback with NCAA Championship experience. Ortiz finished T-71 in 2016 in Eugene, Oregon.
• Arkansas has played 21 of its 29 NCAA Championship opponents this year.
• The Razorbacks are one of 14 programs whose men’s and women’s golf teams advanced to the NCAA Championship. Both Razorback teams had an individual advance last year (Cara Gorlei and Overstreet). Both programs advanced as a team in 2016, 2013, 2011 and 2005.

The Field

The FieldGolfweekGolfstat
Arizona State1819
Augusta University100104
Brigham Young3935
Central Florida5356
Iowa State4748
Kent State3029
NC State3538
North Carolina2016
North Florida2321
Oklahoma State11
Texas A&M22
Texas Tech1613