Robinson On Hendricks Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE – Razorback senior Antwain Robinson has been named to the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year watch list, it was announced by the award’s foundation on Tuesday.

Robinson is one of 36 players that were tabbed as players to watch as the 2008 season gets ready to begin. The recognition for Robinson is the second time in as many days he has been rewarded for his three seasons on the field for the Hogs as he was named to the pre-season All-SEC defensive third team by the league’s coaches on Monday.

During his Razorback career, Robinson has developed into an accomplished pass rusher and in 28 career games has recorded 23 tackles for a loss, 11.5 sacks, 15 passes broken up and three touchdowns. He has taken two scores in on interception returns and one on a fumble recovery. Last season he had 35 tackles, three quarterback sacks for 37 yards and scored one touchdown on an interception.

Candidates for the Hendricks award are voted on by members of the national media, head coaches, scouts and previous winners, and everything from on-field performance, attitude, academics and community service are looked at to determine the annual winner. The Hendricks Award is currently in its seventh year and past recipients include Chris Long (Virginia, 2007), David Pollack (Georgia, 2003 and 2004) and Terrell Suggs (Arizona St., 2002).

The mid-season watch list for the Ted Hendricks Award is slated for release in November with the award presentation scheduled for Dec. 10.

Arkansas head coach Bobby Petrino goes to the Southeastern Conference Media Days on Friday morning, July 25. The Razorbacks begin pre-season practice on Aug. 4 with kickoff of the 2008 season on Aug. 30. For more information regarding Razorback football or University of Arkansas athletics please visit

2008 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Watch List

Diyral Briggs – Bowling Green

Everette Brown – Florida State

Victor Butler – Oregon State

Ian Campbell – Kansas State

Antonio Coleman – Auburn

Jermaine Cunningham – Florida

Will Davis – Illinois

Dexter Davis – Arizona State

Larry English – Northern Illinois

Auston English – Oklahoma

Maurice Evans – Penn State

Brandon Graham – Michigan

Greg Hardy – Mississippi

Phillip Hunt – Houston

Tyson Jackson – LSU

Tim Jamison – Michigan

Jeremy Jarmon – Kentucky

Michael Johnson – Georgia Tech

Jan Jorgensen – BYU

Albert Mcclellan – Marshall

Greg Middleton – Indiana

Eric Moncur – Miami

Kyle Moore – USC

Eric Norwood – South Carolina

Brian Orakpo – Texas

Kirston Pittman – LSU

Zach Potter – Nebraska

Nick Reed – Oregon

Antwain Robinson – Arkansas

Ricky Sapp – Clemson

Jeff Schweiger – San Jose State

George Selvie – South Florida

Matt Shaughnessy – Wisconsin

Stryker Sulak – Missouri

Jamaal Westerman – Rutgers

Willie Young – N.C. State