Schmidt and Todd Tabbed First-Team All-SEC by League Coaches

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. Arkansas junior pitchers Nick Schmidt and Jess Todd both earned first-team All-SEC honors by the 12 league coaches the conference office announced on Tuesday. Freshman pitcher Dallas Keuchel also took home All-Freshman accolades.

It is the second straight year the left-handed Schmidt has been a first-team selection. He has a 9-3 record in 2007 with a 3.08 ERA and 101 strikeouts in 108 innings. Schmidt, who was the SEC Pitcher of the Year and a First-Team All-American last season, boasts a career record of 26-8 with a sub-3.00 ERA.

Todd, a right-handed transfer from Navarro Junior College, joined Schmidt on the first team after an 8-2 season with a 2.73 ERA and 107 strikeouts. Todd moved into the Hogs’ weekend rotation over the final six weeks of the season and dominated with a 4-0 record and a 1.35 ERA in 46.2 innings. He had a 7-1 record in SEC play and a 2.48 ERA that ranked second in the league.

It marks just the second time in school history the Razorbacks have had two starting pitchers earn All-SEC honors in the same season. Charlie Isaacson and David Walling also accomplished the feat in 1999.

Keuchel, a freshman left-hander from Bishop Kelley High School in Tulsa, Okla., was tabbed as a relief pitcher on the All-Freshman team. He posted a 6-2 record this season with a save and 49 strikeouts in 50.2 innings of work.

The Hogs begin SEC Tournament play as the No. 2 seed and will face off with No. 7-seed Alabama at 10 a.m. Wednesday, May 23, at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala. Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of the 12 first-team votes.

Florida’s Matt LaPorta was named the SEC Player of the Year while Vanderbilt’s David Price was named the Pitcher of the Year. The Commodores Mike Minor was honored as the Freshman of the Year and head coach Tim Corbin was tabbed the Coach of the Year. Alabama’s Emeel Salem was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

2007 SEC Baseball Awards

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Matt LaPorta, FloridaSEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR – *David Price, VanderbiltSEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Jordan Henry, Ole Miss SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Emeel Salem, AlabamaSEC COACH OF THE YEAR – *Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt* unanimous selection

FIRST TEAM 1B – Matt LaPorta, Florida 2B – Travis Jones, South Carolina 3B – Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt SS – Zack Cozart, Ole Miss C – Edward Easley, Mississippi State OF – *Emeel Salem, Alabama OF – *Dominic de la Osa, VanderbiltOF – Brian Leclerc, FloridaDH – Phil Disher, South Carolina P – *David Price, VanderbiltP – Nick Schmidt, Arkansas P – Jess Todd, Arkansas RP – Casey Weathers, Vanderbilt

SECOND TEAM 1B – Justin Smoak, South Carolina 2B – Jeffrey Rea, Mississippi State 3B – James Darnell, South Carolina SS – Ryan Flaherty, Vanderbilt C – J.P. Arencibia, TennesseeOF – Jordan Henry, Ole Miss OF – Mike Bianucci, AuburnOF – Julio Borbon, Tennessee DH – Alex Avila, Alabama P – Lance Lynn, Ole Miss P – James Adkins, Tennessee RP – Jared Bradford, LSURP – Cody Satterwhite, Ole Miss

ALL-FRESHMAN TEAM 1B – Yan Gomes, Tennessee 2B – Robert Brooks, Auburn2B – Zach Miller, Ole Miss3B – Connor Powers, Mississippi StateSS – Cole Figueroa, FloridaC – Sean Ochinko, LSU OF – *Jordan Henry, Ole Miss OF – Blake Dean, LSU OF – Matt den Dekker, FloridaOF – Jonathan Pigott, Florida DH – Jeff Lockwood, Tennessee P – Mike Minor, Vanderbilt P – Nathan Baker, Ole Miss RP – Dallas Keuchel, Arkansas