Weems Picks Up Third Post-Season Honor Named To USBWA All-District Team

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A day after earning first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors, Arkansas guard/forward Sonny Weems has been named to a third post-season all-star squad with his selection to the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District VII team.

The 6-6 senior from West Memphis, Ark., has also been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 9 second team.

Weems, who was named to the coaches first-team All-SEC team on Tuesday, is joined on the USBWA team by Texas-El Paso’s Stefon Jackson, Baylor’s Curtis Jerrells, Texas’ A.J. Abrams, D.J. Augustin and Damion James, Houston’s Robert McKiver, LSU’s Marcus Thornton, Texas Tech’s Alan Voskuil and Bo McCalebb of New Orleans.

Weems leads the Razorbacks in scoring (14.9), is third in rebounding (4.7), second in assists (2.8), first in steals (1.4), first in free-throw percentage (.803), and second in three-point goals (49) and three-point percentage (.383).

He is 16th in the conference in scoring, 11th in field goal percentage (.461) and 14th in steals. In SEC play, he was eighth in scoring (17.3), 26th in rebounding (5.1), 15th in field goal percentage (.445), fourth in three-point percentage (.426) and sixth in three-point goals per game (2.50).

Weems has led the team in scoring 14 times, been in double figures 23 times and had 20 or more points nine times. He’s also led the team in assists nine times and in rebounding three times.

He had 21 points in the win over Baylor, 22 in the win over No. 25 Mississippi State, 17 in the win over No. 20 Florida and 20 in the win over No. 14 Vanderbilt.

Weems and the Razorbacks are 20-10 and finished second in the SEC’s Western Division at 9-7. Arkansas plays the Vanderbilt-Auburn winner in Friday’s second round of the SEC Tournament in Atlanta’s Georgia Dome at 2:15 (central).

Weems has helped the Hogs record their third straight 20-win season.