WNBA opens with Christon

FAYETTEVILLE — Former University of Arkansas forward Shameka Christon is one of 27 Southeastern Conference players on opening day rosters as the WNBA opened the 2010 season Saturday, May 15.

Christon is on the roster for the Chicago Sky after a recent off-season trade. Former Razorback Lauren Ervin is a member of the Washington Mystics but is not listed on the opening day roster.

Tennessee leads all SEC teams with nine former players, while LSU has seven and Georgia has four. All 12 WNBA teams have at least one former SEC player on their roster with Atlanta and Tulsa leading with four each. Below is a list of all former SEC players who were on opening day rosters of the WNBA.


Name School WNBA Team
Dominique Canty Alabama Chicago Sky
Shameka Christon Arkansas Chicago Sky
DeWanna Bonner Auburn Phoenix Mercury
Le’Coe Willingham Auburn Seattle Storm
DeLisha Milton-Jones Florida Los Angeles Sparks
Kara Braxton Georgia Tulsa Shock
Coco Miller Georgia Atlanta Dream
Kelly Miller Georgia Atlanta Dream
Ashley Houts Georgia Washington Mystics
Seimone Augustus LSU Minnesota Lynx
Temeka Johnson LSU Phoenix Mercury
Marie Ferdinand-Harris LSU Los Angeles Sparks
Allison Hightower LSU Connecticut Sun
Alexis Hornbuckle LSU Tulsa Shock
Sylvia Fowles LSU Chicago Sky
Scholanda Robinson LSU Tulsa Shock
Armintie Price Ole Miss Atlanta Dream
Tan White Mississippi State Connecticut Sun
Nicky Anosike Tennessee Minnesota Lynx
Tamika Catchings Tennessee Indiana Fever
Shanna Crossley Tennessee Tulsa Shock
Chamique Holdsclaw Tennessee Atlanta Dream
Alexis Hornbuckle Tennessee Detroit Shock
Kara Lawson Tennessee Connecticut Sun
Candace Parker Tennessee Los Angeles Sparks
Ashley Robinson Tennessee Seattle Storm
Michelle Snow Tennessee San Antonio Silver Stars
Sidney Spencer Tennessee New York Liberty