Robert Black

Hurdles Highlight Indoor Finale

Arkansas Qualifier Results

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Several strong performances highlighted the No. 1 Arkansas women’s track and field team’s indoor regular-season finale, the Arkansas Qualifier, on Friday at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

Janeek Brown turned in the night’s top performance with a win in the 60-meter hurdles. The freshman from Kingston, Jamaica, set a personal record of 8.15 in the finals to move into a tie for 15th nationally.

Elsewhere on the track, a bevy of Razorbacks turned in top-three finishes in their respective events.

  Jada Baylark finished third in the 200-meter dash with a time of 23.43.

  In the 800-meter, Kailee Sawyer clocked a 2:11.04 to place second, while Emily Jeacock took third in 2:13.55.

  Alex Ritchey ran a 10:05.55 in the 3,000-meter to take second.

  Devin Clark and Sydney Brown closed out the night strong, finishing second and third in the mile with times of 4:46.21 and 4:48.62.

  Carmen Sitz placed second in the high jump, clearing a height of 1.66m/5-5¼, while Morgan Hartsell cleared 4.00m/13-1½ for a second-place finish in the pole vault

  At the Alex Wilson Invitational on Saturday, the Razorback DMR squad of Nikki Hiltz, Morgan Burks-Magee, Carina Viljoen and Taylor Werner posted the ninth-best time in the nation while finishing sixth with a time of 11:02.31.

Up Next
With the indoor regular season behind them the Razorbacks will shift their focus to postseason competition, looking to pick up the program’s 12th-consecutive Southeastern Conference title next weekend in College Station, Texas at the 2018 SEC Indoor Championships.

Arkansas Qualifier
February 16, 2018
Randal Tyson Track Center (Fayetteville, Ark.)

60 Meters Prelims
2. Payton Chadwick – 7.43
5. Tamara Kuykendall – 7.58
13. Kayla Carter – 8.02

60 Meters Finals
4. Payton Chadwick – 7.46
5. Kiara Parker – 7.54

200 Meters
3. Jada Baylark – 23.43
13. Kayla Carter – 25.71

400 Meters
5. Sydney Davis – 55.46
6. Sydney Hammit – 55.47

800 Meters
2. Kailee Sawyer – 2:11.04
3. Emily Jeacock –  2:13.55
5. Tess Iler – 2:17.85

2. Devin Clark – 4:46.21
3. Sydney Brown – 4:48.62
4. Maddy Reed –  4:49.95
6. Rachel Nichwitz – 4:54.62

3,000 Meters
2. Alex Ritchey – 10:05.55

60 Meter Hurdles Prelims
1. Janeek Brown – 8.20

60 Meter Hurdles Finals
1. Janeek Brown – 8.15

High Jump
3. Carmen Sitz – 1.66m/5-5¼

Pole Vault
3. Morgan Hartsell –  4.00m/13-1½
4. Rylee Robinson – 4.00m/13-1½

Alex Wilson Invite
February, 17, 2018
Notre Dame, Indiana

Women’s DMR
6. N. Hiltz, M. Burks-Magee, C.Viljoen, T. Werner- 11:02.31.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.