No. 4 Razorbacks Secure 16th SEC Title

Arkansas Results – 10.30

SEC Championships Results -W

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The fourth-ranked Arkansas women’s cross country team finished first at the 2015 SEC Cross Country Championships to earn the program’s 16th title since joining the conference in 1991.

Two-time cross country All-American Dominique Scott led the young group of Razorbacks through the wet and muddy terrain of the 6K course. Scott solidified her status as one of the best runners in conference history with her third-consecutive individual victory in a time of 19:23.50, just one second shy of her personal best at that distance. Revered as one of the top collegiate runners in the country, Scott became one of only three in SEC cross country history to accomplish that feat.

Fellow redshirt senior, Kaitlin Flattmann had a breakout race, crossing the line as the sixth overall finisher with a new PR of 20:00.70 and in second for the talented Arkansas team. Flattmann was promptly followed by freshman Devin Clark who rounded out the group within the top-10 in 20:12.80.

Juniors Valerie Reina (20:20.10) and Regan Ward (20:21.00) secured the victory for the Razorbacks with 11th and 12th place finishes.

Out of scoring contention Arkansas’ back seven runners still outperformed most of the field led by 13th place finisher Kelsey Schrader in 20:21.90. Sydney Brown was next to come through in 20th with a time of 20:30.30. Safee Belbina (33rd), Nikki Hiltz (34th), Rachel Nichwitz (42nd) and Samantha Mohler (50th) all finished among the top-50 while Therese Haiss completed the successful outing finishing 81st out of 131 runners.

Arkansas will return to College Station in two weeks to defend their NCAA South Central Regional title on Friday, Nov. 13.

First Team All-SEC
Dominique Scott
Kaitlin Flattmann

Second Team All-SEC
Devin Clark
Valerie Reina
Regan Ward
Kelsey Schrader

SEC All-Freshman Team
Devin Clark
Sydney Brown

SEC Championships 6K Results
1. Dominique Scott (1) – 19:23.50
2. Kaitlin Flattmann (6) – 20:00.70
3. Devin Clark (8) – 20:12.80
4. Valerie Reina (11) – 20:20.10
5. Regan Ward (12) – 20:21.00
6. Kelsey Schrader (13) – 20:21.90
7. Sydney Brown (20) – 20:30.30
8. Safee Belbina (33) – 20:53.40
9. Nikki Hiltz (34) – 20:57.10
10. Rachel Nichwitz (42) – 21:07.50
11. Samantha Mohler (50) – 21:21.50
12. Therese Haiss (81) – 21:52.70

2015 Arkansas Cross Country Schedule
Tuesday, Sept. 1, Oklahoma State Duals | Stillwater, Okla. | 2nd of 4
Saturday, Sept. 12, UC Riverside Invitational | Riverside, Calif. | 1st of 15 – 6K, 1st of 17 – 5K
Saturday, Sept. 19, Missouri Southern Stampede | Joplin, Mo. | 1st of 25
Saturday, Oct. 3, Chile Pepper Festival | Fayetteville, Ark. | 1st of 17
Friday, Oct. 16, Wisconsin adidas Invitational | Madison, Wis. | 2nd of 36
Friday, Oct. 30, SEC Championships | College Station, Texas | 1st of 14
Friday, Nov. 13, NCAA South Central Regional | College Station, Texas
Saturday, Nov. 21, NCAA Championships | Louisville, Ky.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.