Henry Continues To Garner National Attention

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Junior Hunter Henry has earned a place on the 2015 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, released Wednesday. The award annually recognizes the most outstanding collegiate tight end.

Already tabbed a 2015 preseason first team All-American by Athlon Sports, Henry is one of 33 student-athletes nationally, and one of six from the Southeastern Conference, on the John Mackey Award Watch List.

In his two seasons as a Razorback, Henry has tallied 65 receptions, the most by any SEC tight end during that span. He has 922 receiving yards and six touchdowns in his career.

At 6-5 250 pounds, Henry hauled in 37 passes for 513 yards as a sophomore and was one of only two tight ends in the conference to tally a 100-yard receiving game.

After a productive 2014 and being named All-SEC second team by the league’s coaches, the Little Rock, Arkansas native is poised for a banner year.

Henry is the third Razorback in two days to be named to a NCFAA preseason watch list. The dynamic running back duo of Jonathan Williams and Alex Collins were tabbed to the watch list for the 79th Maxwell Award on Tuesday.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The winner will be announced on Dec. 9 and then presented live on Dec. 10 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2015 Mackey Midseason Watch List on Oct. 12, the 2015 Mackey Semi-finalists on Nov. 16 and the 2015 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 24.

Hunter Henry’s Preseason Awards
– John Mackey Award Watch List
– Athlon All-American (first team)
– Phil Steele All-American (fourth team)
– Athlon Sports All-SEC (first team)
– Phil Steele All-SEC (third team)

For more information on Arkansas Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.

ArkansasRazorbacks.com || On Twitter @ArkRazorbacks || Facebook.com/ArkansasRazorbacks