1959 SWC champs having reunion

FAYETTEVILLE – The 1959 Arkansas Razorback football team is gathering for a reunion this week to mark the 50th anniversary of its co-championship in the Southwest Conference.

In Frank Broyles’ second season as head coach, he guided Arkansas to a 9-2 overall finish, a 5-1 record and co-championship in the SWC, a 14-7 win over Georgia Tech in the Gator Bowl and a No. 9 final ranking.

The Southwest Conference title was the first of seven outright or shared championships for Broyles and the Gator Bowl was the first of 10 bowl games.

The nine victories in 1959 were a school record, and the championship and bowl game were the first for the Razorbacks since 1954.

According to Harold Horton, the executive director of the Razorback Foundation and a member of the 1959 team, 53 members of the squad are participating in the reunion.

“This shows the love and the bond these former players still have for the program,” Horton says. “Red Henderson, Billy Luplow, Billy Kyser and Jack Buffington deserve a pat on the back for getting everyone together.”

Horton says other former team members attending include Lance Alworth, Fred Akers, Barry Switzer, Wayne Harris, Jarrell Williams, Jim Mooty, Jimmy Collier and Jim Monroe. Luplow, Switzer and Monroe were the team captains.

The team is meeting for dinner on Thursday, having a social on Friday and attending Saturday’s 11 a.m. game against Auburn in Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium.