Arkansas Legend Honored By SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Former Arkansas distance standout Amy Yoder-Begley has been selected to the Southeastern Conference 2016 Class of Women’s Legends. The elite list showcases former student-athletes, coaches and administrators from all 14 member institutions.

The 2000 SEC Female Athlete of the Year, Yoder-Begley achieved success in cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field during her time at Arkansas. The first and only Razorback to earn All-America honors in all four years of her cross country career, Yoder-Begley claimed another first when she was named the 1999 Honda Award winner for the sport in recognition of athletic and scholastic achievements that season.

Considered the greatest distance runner in SEC history, Yoder-Begley capped her illustrious career at Arkansas with 15 All-America honors, 16 SEC individual titles, and two NCAA individual titles.

The new class of inductees will be honored at the 2016 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament in Jacksonville, Fla. on March 2-6.

Each legend will be honored during their respective team’s Tournament halftime break. All 14 individuals also will be honored as a group and participate in an autograph session. Complimentary posters of the Legends also will be available at the session.

2016 SEC Women’s Legends:

Alabama Crimson Tide – Sarah Patterson, Gymnastics (Coach), 1979-2014

Arkansas Razorbacks – Amy Yoder-Begley, Track & Field, 1997-2001

Auburn Tigers – Kim Evans, Women’s Golf (Coach), 1994-2015

Florida Gators – Dana Smith DesJarlais, Basketball, 1994-1998

Georgia Bulldogs – Andy Landers, Basketball (Coach), 1979-2015

Kentucky Wildcats – Tina Johnson Ybarra, Swimming & Diving, 1994-1996

LSU Tigers – Sylvia Fowles, Basketball, 2004-2008

Ole Miss Rebels – Paloma Collantes- Hansen, Tennis, 1991-1994

Mississippi State Bulldogs – Chelsea Bramlett-Malone, Softball, 2007-2010

Missouri Tigers – Lorraine Ferret, Basketball, 1979-1983

South Carolina Gamecocks – Denise Nanney- White, Basketball, 1975-1977

Tennessee Volunteers – Shyra Ely-Gash, Basketball, 2001-2005

Texas A&M Aggies – Toccara Williams, Basketball, 2000-2004

Vanderbilt Commoodores – Ashley Earley, Basketball, 2001-2005

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.