Arkansas to Host SEC Indoor Championships

Meet Schedule

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas will welcome members of the Southeastern Conference to campus this week as the Randal Tyson Track Center is set to host the 2016 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships on Feb. 26-27.

Widely considered the best track and field conference in the country, the SEC leads the nation with 13 nationally-ranked men’s and women’s teams. The SEC boasts the four out of the top five men’s teams including No. 1 Arkansas, No. 3 LSU, No. 4 Tennessee and No. 5 Texas A&M. Three SEC women’s teams also rank within the NCAA top four including No. 2 Georgia, No. 3 Florida and No. 4 Arkansas.

The SEC held its first conference indoor championships in 1957 in Montgomery, Ala. With only men’s teams competing at the time, LSU took home the conference trophy with a score of 44 points. Since joining the conference in 1991, Arkansas has won 25 total SEC indoor titles between its men’s and women’s programs.

Home of the ‘Fastest Indoor Track in the World,’ the Randal Tyson Track Center has been the venue for the conference indoor meet seven times since its establishment in 2000. The world-class facility features a 200-meter, 60-degree banked track that has 60-meter straightaways running the entire length of the facility. Arkansas further improved the track center in 2016 with the installation of a new LED video board that measures about 12.5 feet high by 22 feet wide located on the southeast side of the building.

The SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships last came to Fayetteville, Ark. in 2013. That season saw both Razorback men’s and women’s programs secure the conference title in front of their home crowd. Arkansas men’s track and field went on to win another trophy in their home venue picking up the program’s 41st national title at the 2013 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships.

The 2015 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships saw Florida men and Arkansas women earn team victories inside Nutter Fieldhouse in Lexington, Ky. Led by 2015 Bowerman award winner Marquis Dendy, the Gators capped their season with a runner-up finish at the 2015 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships in Fayetteville, Ark.

Arkansas women’s track and field won the program’s first national title at the Randal Tyson Track Center collecting 10 points from Sandi Morris in the pole vault, Dominique Scott in the 3K, and a DMR team of Jessica Kamilos, Sparkle McKnight, Therese Haiss and Dominique Scott.

Fans can watch the live stream of the 2016 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships on SEC Network+ Friday, Feb. 26 at 3:55 p.m. and Saturday, Feb. 27 at 2:55 p.m. The meet will be re-aired on Sunday, Feb. 28 on ESPN from 6-8 p.m.

All-session tickets for the 2016 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships are now on sale.

The two-day, all-session ticket prices are $35 for reserved seating and $25 for adult general admission. Tickets can be purchased by logging on to or calling 800-982-HOGS.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.