W. Basketball Other Honors and Awards

NCAA Woman of the Year

Started in 1991 to recognize female athletes, the NCAA Woman of the Year program showcases individuals who have been standouts in athletics, academics and community service.

The Razorback women’s basketball team has three university and statewide selections in the NCAA Woman of the Year program.

The University of Arkansas has produced 10 of the first 11 Women of the Year for the state, including the first top 10 national finalist for the state of Arkansas — track and field All-American Jessica Dailey.

Each NCAA member institution selects its university-wide Woman of the Year. Those nominations are forwarded to the state level where a panel of journalists and NCAA officials vote to select a representative for the state at the national level. These 51 state Women of the Year are honored at the NCAA Woman of the Year banquet where a top 10 and a single national Woman of the Year are chosen.


NCAA Woman of the Year
Christy Smith, 1998
State of Arkansas and National Finalist
Blair Savage, 1993
State of Arkansas and National Finalist
Amber Nicholas, 1992
State of Arkansas and National Finalist

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship
Amber Nicholas, 1992-93

Wade Trophy
Shameka Christon, 2004 finalist
Amber Nicholas, 1992 nominee
Delmonica DeHorney, 1991 finalist
Bettye Fiscus, 1985 finalist

Naismith Award
Shameka Christon, 2003 ballot, 2004 finalist
Christy Smith, 1997 ballot
Christy Smith, 1996 finalist
Delmonica DeHorney, 1991 finalist

Wooden Award
Shameka Christon, 2004 finalist

Nancy Lieberman Award
Calli Berna, 2014, Watch List

Ed Steitz Award
Wendi Willits, 1999

ESPN Three-Point Contest
Wendi Willits, 2001

Sports Illustrated Player of the Week
Delmonica DeHorney, March 1, 1990

National Coach of the Year
Gary Blair, Basketball Times, 1995
Women’s BB News Service, 1995

USA Basketball Team Trials
Jessica Jackson (2015)
C’eira Ricketts, 2009
Shameka Christon, 2009
Ruby Vaden, 2003
Danielle Allen, 2003
Shameka Christon, 2001, 2002
Christy Smith, 1997
Shaka Massey, 1996

USA Junior National Team
Shameka Christon, 2001 (FIBA Jr World Bronze Medal)

USA Young Women’s Team
Ruby Vaden, 2003 team alternate
Shameka Christon, 2002 (COPABA Gold Medal)

World University Games
Christy Smith, 1997, Gold Medalist

Jones Cup
Gary Blair, 1996, Assistant Coach

Olympic Festival Team
Gary Blair, 1996, North team, head coach
Christy Smith, 1995, North team
Sha Hopson, 1991, South team

US Select Team Trials
Marsha Lackey-Vining, 1978
Debbie Roe, 1978
Shameka Christon, 2009

Bell Atlantic Scholar-Athlete Award
Amber Nicholas, 1990

Entergy Postgraduate Scholarship
Blair Savage, 1993

WBCA Robin Roberts Award
Brittney Vaughn, 2008

WBCA/Honda All-Star Challenge
Christy Smith, 1998 (Selected, did not play due to Final Four)

Athletes in Action (College)
Sytia Messer, 1997 (Europe)
Kimberly Wilson, 1995 (Africa)
Cheryl Orcholski, 1983 (S. America)
John Sutherland, 1983 (Asst. Coach, Asia)

Athletes in Action (Pro)
Karyn Karlin, 2000 & 2001

(USA Tour Team)
Christy Smith, 2000, 1998 (USA Tour Team)
Sytia Messer, 1999 (USA Tour Team)

Athletic Int’l Ministries
Karyn Karlin, 1999, Collegiate Athlete of the Year
Christy Smith, 1998, Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Lauren Ervin, 2009
Brittney Vaughn, 2008
Shameka Christon, 2004
Amy Wright, 2002
Wendi Willits, 2001
Karyn Karlin, 2000
Christy Smith, 1998
Kimberly Wilson, 1997

C’eira Ricketts, 2009

CollegeSports360.com Primetime Performer Honor Roll
Sarah Watkins, 1/25/12

WBCA Spalding Maggie Dixon DI Rookie Coach of the Year Finalist
Jimmy Dykes, 2015