Arkansas Celebrates 30 Years in the SEC

Arkansas in the SEC

On August 1, 1990, the University of Arkansas officially accepted an invitation to become the 11th member of the Southeastern Conference. After 76 years as a member of the Southwest Conference, the Razorbacks made a bold move to a new conference home, a decision that would lead to unprecedented growth for both the University of Arkansas and the SEC and help ignite a change in the landscape of intercollegiate athletics.

As we celebrate the anniversary of that historic day, we take a look back at the move and the first 30 years for the Arkansas Razorbacks in the SEC.


SEC Anniversary Video Extras

Former SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer…

On SEC decision to expand conference


On Creation of SEC Football Championship Game


On initial meeting with Arkansas at a Memphis motel


On ways the University of Arkansas was attractive to the SEC


On welcoming gift for Frank Broyles

Head UA Women’s Cross Country & Track and Field Coach Lance Harter

On the SEC Announcement at the University of Arkansas


On the award ceremony after Arkansas’ first SEC title at the 1991 SEC Cross Country Championship



Former UA Chancellor Dan Ferritor

On when discussions began about Arkansas leaving the SWC


On the Push and Pull of Leaving the SWC and Entering the SEC


Former Director of Women’s Athletics Bev Lewis

On the Expansion of Women’s Sports at Arkansas and within the SEC


On Coach Broyles Vision of the Future for Arkansas



The HogPod With Bo Mattingly: Episode 71 Arkansas Joins the SEC