Arkansas After 34th Conference Cross Country Title

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. The No. 8 Razorbacks will travel to Lexington, Ky. for the 2007 SEC Championships, Sat, Oct. 27. The men’s race is set to go off at 10 a.m. ET (9 a.m. CT).

The Hogs will be contending for Arkansas’ 34th-consecutive conference title and its 17th-consecutive SEC title. Among teams in major conferences, Arkansas’ streak of 33-consecutive cross country titles is the longest in any sport.

With just 10 entries per school, Shawn Forrest, Scott MacPherson, Tyler Hill, Matt Munoz, Chris Barnicle, Lane Boyer, Rio Reina, Michael Chinchar, Duncan Phillips and Daniel LaCava are slated to compete.

Some of the best Division I cross country teams in the nation will compete in the SEC Championships. Leading the nationally ranked SEC teams is No. 8 Arkansas followed by No. 12 Alabama and No. 30 Florida.

UA harriers have won 10 of the 16 SEC individual titles since Arkansas joined the league in 1991. Of the 10 title winners, three were repeat winners, winning two-consecutive titles (Godfrey Siamusiye, 1995-96; Michael Power, 1998-99; Josphat Boit, 2004-05).

At the 2006 SEC Championships, the Razorbacks finished four harriers in the top five, five in the top 7, seven in the top 21 and eight in the top 26.

The Razorbacks sit at tied for No. 8 on the USTFCCCA National poll and No. 1 on the South Central Regional poll. They are the top-ranked SEC team in the nation and sit at No. 1 among SEC schools in the South Central Region.

Lane Boyer, Michael Chinchar, Duncan Phillips and Rio Reina will be making their SEC Cross Country Championship debuts this weekend in Lexington. Reina, a sophomore, has competed in the SEC Outdoor Championships. The rest are true freshmen competing in their first SEC Championship event.

Results from the 2007 SEC Cross Country Championships can be found at or

Download: 10.27.07 SEC Championships.pdf