CWS Rewind: 2019

For the first time in program history, the Razorbacks secured a trip to the College World Series in back-to-back seasons, reaching the promised land in 2019.

The Hogs rode a 41-17 record and a 20-10 mark in SEC play to a West Division title and a No. 5 National Seed, ensuring the Road to Omaha continued to run through Fayetteville.

In 2019, Van Horn’s Hogs put together another stellar campaign, ending in a 46-20 overall record, with a whopping 33 wins coming at Baum-Walker Stadium. The Razorbacks went 20-10 in conference action, claiming a share of the SEC West Division title and the No. 2 overall seed in the SEC Tournament.

Arkansas was selected as one of eight national seeds to host throughout the NCAA Regionals and NCAA Super Regionals, slotted at fifth for the second consecutive season. It was the eighth time Baum Stadium was selected as a postseason host site and first time in program history to do so in three-straight seasons.

The Razorbacks blew through regional action with an 11-5 win over Central Connecticut, followed by a pair of 3-1 & 6-0 victories over TCU for a sweep of opening weekend of postseason play. Arkansas faced a familiar foe in the Super Regional round, taking on Ole Miss in Fayetteville, rolling in game one, 11-2. After falling, 13-5, in game two, the Razorbacks pounced on the Rebels early in the winner-take-all contest and made Baum-Walker Stadium party central, finishing off Ole Miss, 14-1, to clinch a berth to the College World Series.

Van Horn made his eighth overall appearance in Omaha, sixth with the Hogs, giving Arkansas 10 trips in its illustrious history. It was the first time Arkansas had made the College World Series in back-to-back years.

The Hogs squared off with Florida State and Texas Tech at the 2019 event, falling in both games to end their 10th run at the big dance.

The 2019 squad was a special group, as a program-high nine All-SEC honorees, with six earning second team honors: Trevor Ezell (1B), Casey Martin (SS), Dominic Fletcher (OF), Heston Kjerstad (OF), Matt Goodheart (DH) & Matt Cronin (RP), three on the all-freshman team: Patrick Wicklander (SP), Connor Noland (SP) & Christian Franklin (OF), with Ezell and Fletcher also landing on the SEC All-Defensive Team. Senior starting pitcher Isaiah Campbell was a consensus All-American, earning first team honors from the ABCA to go with his five second team accolades. He was joined by Matt Cronin with five All-America awards, one for Jack Kenley and a Freshman AllAmerica nod for Connor Noland.