Joe and Jones Named USBWA All-District

FAYETTEVILLE – Razorbacks Isaiah Joe and Mason Jones were voted to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VII team, it was announced today.

The 10-member District VII team is made up of Division I student-athletes from Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana.

Joe, a sophomore, makes the team for the second straight year. Despite missing five games due to knee surgery (six total with the injury), Joe ranked 26th in the NCAA and first in the SEC by making 90 3-pointers this season. Joe set a school record by making 113 last season. The Fort Smith native also ranks fourth in the NCAA in 3-pointers made per game (3.6) and, among active Division I players, ranks third nationally by making 3.4 triples per game for his career.

Joe, who earned SEC Player of the Week honors for his play in the Indiana win, has made 32 straight free throws since returning from the injury and ranks 15th in the NCAA in free throw percentage (88.8%). He only missed two free throws during SEC games (43-of-45) and his 95.6 free throw percentage in league games is a school record.

Jones led the SEC in scoring at 22.0 points per game, which ranks eighth in the NCAA. He additionally led the conference and set a school record for scoring average in SEC games (23.6 ppg). Jones leads the NCAA in free throws made (223) and attempted (271) and set school records for free throws made overall in a season and in league games for a season.

Jones was a four-time SEC player of the Week, being 1-of-3 players in league history to accomplish the feat and first since 2009. He scored at least 30 points nine times this season, which is the most by an SEC player in the last 20 years.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jared Butler, Baylor
COACH OF THE YEAR: Scott Drew, Baylor

Desmond Bane, TCU
Jared Butler, Baylor
Javion Hamlet, North Texas
Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA
Isaiah Joe, Arkansas
Mason Jones, Arkansas
Sha’markus Kennedy, McNeese
Skylar Mays, LSU
Markquis Nowell, Little Rock
Nijal Pearson, Texas State

For more­­ information on Arkansas Men’s Basketball, follow @RazorbackMBB on Twitter.