Miller Named 2017 SEC Legend

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Razorback great Oliver Miller has been named an Allstate® SEC Legend the conference office announced Friday morning. The big man will be recognized at the 2017 SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament March 8-12 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Part of three straight Southwest Conference regular season (1989-91) and tournament champion teams over Arkansas’ final three years in the league from 1989-91, Miller played four seasons (1989-92) for Naismith Hall of Fame coach Nolan Richardson. Known to Razorback fans as “The Big O,” Miller’s senior year was the initial year that Arkansas joined the Southeastern Conference, where he was named an All-SEC selection.

During his four years as a Razorback, Arkansas went a staggering 115-24, making a trip to the 1990 Final Four and capturing an SEC regular season title in 1992, the program’s first year in the league.

One of the most versatile big men in Arkansas history, Miller still holds the record as the program’s all-time leader in field goal percentage (.636) and blocked shots (345), while ranking third in rebounds (886) and ninth in points (1,674).

As a junior, Miller became the first player in program history to earn more than 100 blocks and 100 assists in the same season. During the 1990-91 campaign, Miller set the single-season record with 112 blocks while leading the NCAA in field goal percentage (704).

Joining Miller in the 2017 class of SEC Legends includes George Linn, Alabama; Marquis Daniels, Auburn; Matt Bonner, Florida; Jimmy Pitts, Georgia; Keith Bogans, Kentucky; Tasmin Mitchell, LSU; Jason Harrison, Ole Miss; Dontae’ Jones, Mississippi State; Jon Sundvold, Missouri; Bobby Cremins, South Carolina; Ron Slay, Tennessee; Acie Law IV, Texas A&M; Barry Booker, Vanderbilt.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution’s first game at the tournament. Highlighting the schedule of events at the Sunkist Soda SEC FanFare will be appearances by selected legends. Fanfare will be located at Broadway and 5th Avenue.

Arkansas’ All-Time SEC Legends
1999 – Sidney Moncrief
2000 – Tommy Boyer
2001 – Joe Kleine
2002 – Ron Brewer
2003 – Lee Mayberry
2004 – Todd Day
2005 – Scott Hastings
2006 – Marvin Delph
2007 – U.S. Reed
2008 – Corliss Williamson
2009 – Scotty Thurman
2010 – Jim Counce
2011 – George Kok
2012 – Nolan Richardson
2013 – Jerry Carlton
2014 – Clint McDaniel
2015 – Darrell Walker
2016 – Pat Bradley
2017 – Oliver Miller

For more information on Arkansas men’s basketball, follow @RazorbackMBB on Twitter.