Postseason Accolades Continue For Diaz

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Having previously earned a spot among the top freshmen in the country, Ashley Diaz added to her list of accolades Thursday by being selected to the NFCA All-South Region Second Team. The South El Monte, California, native becomes the ninth Razorback and second freshmen in program history to earn all-region honors. Selected by head coaches in the region, Diaz is now eligible to be named to the 2016 NFCA Division I All-America teams.

Diaz joins the program’s list of past all-region performers that features Jessica Bachkora (2010), Miranda Dixon (2008-10), Brett Erickson (2000), Kasey Fagan (2014), Clarisa Navarro (2012 & 2014), Blaire Perry (2006), Sandra Smith (2010) and Devon Wallace (2012-15). This also marks the fifth-consecutive season for a Razorback to earn NFCA All-Region honors.

During her standout freshman season, Diaz paced Arkansas with a .331 batting average, 12 home runs and 41 RBI which also led to placement on the Schutt Sport/NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year Top 25 watch list. She became just the second freshman in program history with 10+ home runs and the only Razorback freshman to reach 40 RBI in a single season.

Earlier this season, Diaz tied the Arkansas school record with an 18-game hitting streak, a mark she now shares with Tiffany Wooley (1999) and Cortney Mitchell (2002). She also led the Razorbacks with 17 multi-hit performances and 13 multi-RBI games. Defensively, Diaz carried a .980 fielding percentage at first base and had a hand in 17 of Arkansas’ 25 double plays. Through the regular season, she ranked 10th in the SEC with 291 putouts.

2016Ashley DiazFreshmanSecond TeamDP/Utility
2015Devon WallaceSeniorThird TeamFirst Base
2014Kasey FaganSeniorSecond TeamUtility/Pitcher
2014Clarisa NavarroSeniorSecond TeamShortstop
2014Devon WallaceJuniorSecond TeamDP/Utility
2013Devon WallaceSophomoreSecond TeamFirst Base
2012Devon WallaceFreshmanFirst TeamOutfield
2012Clarisa NavarroSophomoreSecond TeamShortstop
2010Jessica BachkoraSeniorFirst TeamOutfield
2010Sandra SmithSeniorFirst TeamThird Base
2010Miranda DixonSeniorSecond TeamUtility/DP
2009Miranda DixonJuniorFirst TeamUtility/Pitcher
2008Miranda DixonSophomoreSecond TeamUtility/Pitcher
2006Blaire PerrySeniorFirst TeamUtility
2000Brett EricksonSeniorSecond TeamThird Base

Follow @RazorbackSB on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for more information about Arkansas Softball.