Razorback MGolf Opens Season at Folds of Honor Collegiate on GOLF Channel

FAYETTEVILLE – The 2023-24 Arkansas men’s golf program opens the season at a new event with virtually a whole new team.

The Razorbacks head to American Dunes Golf Club in Grand Haven, Mich., Sept. 4-6, to play in the second annual Folds of Honor Collegiate, which is put on by the Golf Coaches Association of America, Folds of Honor, Michigan State and Florida State. The event will be one of three that the Razorbacks will play on GOLF Channel this fall, including its own Blessings Collegiate Invitational (Oct. 2-4).

The Folds of Honor kicks off on Sunday (Sept. 3) with a Long Drive competition featuring all 18 schools, a College-Am and a welcome party with featured guest and course designer Jack Nicklaus. before beginning play Monday (Sept. 4).

The American Dunes Golf Club is the birthplace of the Folds of Honor, which raises awareness and funds for the families of our fallen and disabled veterans. Fittingly, the Folds of Honor Collegiate features Army West Point, Navy and Air Force as well as two Historically Black Colleges and Universities, one Division II program and 12 Division I programs.

Since the birth of Folds of Honor, 191 scholarship recipients have furthered their education at the University of Arkansas. When you back the Razorbacks in this golf tournament, your charitable gift not only keeps the legacy of America’s fallen and disabled heroes alive but also fuels the dreams of future scholars. Each swing brings us closer to our goal.

Of the 18 teams in this year’s event, Arkansas’ 191 scholarship recipients are the most. To donate to Folds of Honor Scholarships for the University of Arkansas, CLICK HERE. In fact, each team will carry an honor bag tag, representing the Folds of Honor recipients at each of their schools.

It is only fitting that a new event in the Arkansas schedule rota will showcase an almost entirely new Razorback squad.

Arkansas’ five will feature four players making their first appearance in the Razorback lineup.

Manuel Lozada is the only one with Razorback match experience. The junior played in every event for Arkansas as a freshman (2020-21) and as a redshirt sophomore (2022-23) after missing 2021-22 due to injury.

John Daly II, who redshirted last season, will make his debut in the starting lineup. The sophomore played as an individual in one event – the Blessings Collegiate Invitational – as a freshman (2021-22) and posted a 68 in round two.

Three graduate seniors round out the lineup including Jacob Skov Olesen (TCU), John Driscoll III (Northwestern) and Mateo Pulcini (Oklahoma Christian).

Gone are four graduates that helped Arkansas finish among the NCAA top 20 in each of the last three years including All-Americans Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira and Julian Perico, SEC champion Segundo Oliva Pinto and Wil Gibson.

Joining Lozada as returners from last season is Christian Castillo, who played 10 events in last season but five were as an individual, and Matthew Griggs, who played in five events – three as an individual. Kalen Dulany joined Daly as a redshirt last season.

The list of newcomers includes four transfers and four freshmen.

Olesen won The Prestige and was tabbed All-Region in 2021 while adding Big 12 All-Tournament team honors after finishing T-9th at last spring’s conference championship. Olesen is also one of two current Razorbacks to be named the GCAA/NJCAA DI Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman as he played his rookie campaign (2019-20) at Ranger College and led JuCo golfers with a 69.53 scoring average.

Driscoll played four seasons at Northwestern and was named All-Big 10 in 2021. Pulcini played four seasons at Oklahoma Christian and was a three-time NCAA DII All-American.

Not in the lineup is Matthis LeFevre, who is one of the most decorated junior college players in recent history. LeFevre comes from New Mexico College where was a two-time All-America and winner of the 2023 GCAA/NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Award as the Division I Player of the Year. He was the top-ranked player in JuCo golf last season (780.29 scoring average) and he ranked third as a freshman (70.09 scoring average). He won nine events in his two years at New Mexico with 20 top-10 finishes. Not included in that was a win at a professional event, the 2022 IPS New Mexico Open. He became the first amateur to win the New Mexico Open since 1968.

A trio of freshmen will also be bidding for time this season. The group includes Thomas Curry (Texas 5A state champion), Rex Hargrove (Jones Cup Junior Invitational Champion) and Erik Plenge (T-16 at IMG Academy Junior World Championship).

Folds of Honor Collegiate
Sept. 4-6, 2023
American Dunes Golf Club || Grand Haven, Mich.
7,128 yards || Par 72

Army West Point
Air Force
Florida A&M
Florida State
Grand Valley (NCAA DII)
Michigan State
NC State
Notre Dame
South Carolina

Razorback Lineup:
John Daly II
John Driscoll III
Manuel Lozada
Jacob Skov Olesen
Mateo Pulcini


For more information on Arkansas Men’s Golf, follow @RazorbackMGolf on Twitter.