Razorback Fans Help McFadden Capture Cingular All-America Honors

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore Darren’ McFadden’s 219 yards and two touchdowns rushing against South Carolina coupled with the support of thousands of Razorback fans resulted in the Razorback tailback capturing Cingular All-America Player of the Week honors.

The award based on fan voting via text messaging clearly favored McFadden who racked up 49 percent of the overall vote. Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan was second (19 percent) while Minnesota quarterback Bryan Cupito (18 percent) and Texas Tech wide receiver Joel Filani (14 percent) finishing third and fourth, respectively.

“I’m proud of Darren for his outstanding game against South Carolina and what he has done this season,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt. “He certainly deserves the national recognition he has been receiving. I appreciate the Razorback fans actively supporting our team and our players when they have the opportunity to make a difference.”

The official announcement of McFadden’s award was made on ESPN’s coverage of the Louisville-Rutgers game on Thursday night.

Rutgers running back Ray Rice, Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn, Michigan wide receiver Mario Manningham, Georgia Tech wide receiver Calvin Johnson, Tennessee quarterback Erik Ainge, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy and BYU quarterback John Beck have won the Cingular All-America Player of the Week during the 2006 college football season.

In December, four finalists for the Cingular All-America Player of the Year award will be announced during a one-hour special on ABC Sports. Fans will then get a chance to say who the best player in the nation is by voting for the Cingular All-America Player of the Year up until the Bowl Championship Series. The selection process will culminate during the BCS National Championship game on FOX when the Cingular All-America Player of the Year will be presented.

Last year, University of Texas quarterback Vince Young was crowned as the Cingular All-America Player of the Year, beating out USC teammates Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart and University of Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn. He was the second Longhorn to claim the award, after running back Cedric Benson won the inaugural honor in 2004.