Razorbacks Elite Team For Sixth-Consecutive Year


NEW ORLEANS, La. – Having completed the year with three national champions, the Arkansas women’s track and field team wrapped up its 2017-18 campaign as a USTFCCCA top-five program for the sixth-consecutive season.

The Program of the Year Award, named for Cal Poly legendary coach Terry Crawford, recognizes the women’s team that has the best-combined results across the NCAA cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field seasons with points distributed based on team finish. To be considered for the award, a team must qualify for the NCAA Championships in all three seasons. Upon completion of the outdoor championship, points from each season are added with the award recipient being the team with the lowest combined total.

Program of the Year Top-Five
1. Stanford – 15
2. Oregon – 17
3. Georgia – 20
4. Arkansas – 26.5
5. New Mexico – 29

This past fall the Razorbacks began their trek towards the distinguished award with a top-20 finish at the 2017 NCAA Cross Country Championships (13th). Arkansas carried that momentum into the indoor season, capitalizing on the efforts of three individual national champions in Taliyah Brooks (Pentathlon), Lexi Jacobus (Pole Vault), and Payton Chadwick (60-meter hurdles) to post a runner-up finish at the indoor national meet in College Station, Texas.

The Razorbacks finished off the season scoring 20-points in Eugene, Oregon at NCAA outdoor championships, which saw the team finish in 11th-place to bring their combined total for the year to 26.5. Head coach Lance Harter’s program produced 26 All-Americans through the fall, winter and spring competition seasons.

Past Winners
2016-2017: Oregon (1st), Colorado (2nd), Arkansas/Stanford (3rd)
2015-2016: Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Oklahoma State (3rd)
2014-2015: Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Stanford (3rd)
2013-2014: Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Arkansas (3rd)
2012-2013: Oregon (1st), Arizona (2nd), Arkansas (3rd)
2011-2012: Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Washington (3rd)
2010-2011: Oregon (1st), Arizona (2nd), Villanova (3rd)
2009-2010: Oregon (1st), Florida (2nd), Penn State (3rd)
2008-2009: Oregon (1st), Florida State (2nd), Arizona State (3rd)

2018 Outdoor First Team All-America (3)
Nikki Hiltz (1,500-meters)
Lexi Weeks (Pole Vault)
Janeek Brown (100-meter hurdles)

2018 Outdoor Second All-America (6)
Kiara Parker (4-x-100-meter relay)
Jada Baylark (4-x-100-meter relay)
Janeek Brown (4-x-100-meter relay)
Taliyah Brooks (4-x-100-meter relay)
Tori Weeks (Pole Vault)
Devin Clark (3,000-meter steeplechase)

2018 NCAA Outdoor Honorable Mention (6)
Jada Baylark (100-meters)
Morgan Burks-Magee (4-x-400-meter relay)
Kiara Parker (4-x-400-meter relay)
Sydney Hammit (4-x-400-meter relay)
Sydney Davis (4-x-400-meter relay)
Rylee Robinson (Pole Vault)

2018 Indoor First Team All-America (6)
Taliyah Brooks (Pentathlon)
Nikki Hiltz (Mile)
Payton Chadwick (60-meter hurdles)
Janeek Brown (60-meter hurdles)
Lexi Weeks (Pole Vault)
Tori Weeks (Pole Vault)

2018 Indoor Second Team All-America (5)
Taliyah Brooks (Long Jump)
Payton Chadwick (Long Jump)
Payton Chadwick (200-meters)
Jada Baylark (60-meters)
Morgan Burks-Magee (400-meters)

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.