Trio of Razorbacks Named 2006 Pre-Season All-Americans

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas senior Sam Olajubutu and sophomores Darren McFadden and Felix Jones earned national recognition on Thursday as the Razorbacks were named as 2006 Pre-Season All-Americans.

Olajubutu was named to the second-team All-America defense. McFadden was tabbed as the outlet’s second-team all-purpose back and Jones was honored as the second-team kickoff returner.

“With their efforts and accomplishments last season, Sam, Darren and Felix have made a name for themselves on the national scene,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “While they undoubtedly deserve their pre-season honors, they will need to continue to work hard to maintain their position among the nation’s best players. With focus and commitment and the help of their teammates, I am confident that they will be strong candidates for the post-season All-America teams as well.”

Even with the 2006 season opener more than nine weeks away, Olajubutu has been garnering plenty of national pre-season recognition. The LaGrange, Ga., native has been named to the watch lists of a number of national awards including the Bednarik Award (nation’s top defensive player), the Lombardi Award (nation’s top defensive lineman or linebacker), the Lott Trophy (nation’s top defensive player) and the Nagurski Trophy (nation’s top defensive player).

Olajubutu earned honorable mention All-America honors and first-team All-Southeastern Conference accolades last season after racking up a team-leading 118 tackles, including 14.5 tackles for loss (-40) and 4.5 sacks (-22). In 2005, he recorded 14 or more tackles four times and was in double-figures five times. Olajubutu enters his senior season with 257 career tackles and needing only 43 stops to become just the 14th Razorback to earn 300 tackles in his collegiate career.

McFadden has been turning heads on the national scene as well. Earlier this month, McFadden was named to a list of pre-season candidates for the 70th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year. The North Little Rock product was one of only 11 sophomores to be included on the Maxwell Award pre-season list. McFadden was an honorable mention All-America selection last season after rushing for 1,113 yards and 11 touchdowns. The consensus freshman All-American was also named as a first-team All-Southeastern Conference running back and the SEC Freshman of the Year.

Jones will be looking to follow-up a spectacular freshman campaign in which he finished second in the nation in kickoff returns and helped Arkansas lead the nation in that category. A College Football first-team All-American, Jones averaged 31.9 yards per kickoff return in 2005 including a school-record 100-yard kickoff return for a touchdown against Mississippi State. The Tulsa, Okla., product became the first true freshman in school history to garner first-team All-America honors. He also earned honorable mention freshman All-America honors as a tailback after rushing for 626 yards and three touchdowns on 99 attempts.

2006 Pre-Season All-America Teams


QB Brady Quinn, Notre Dame

RB Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma

RB Marshawn Lynch, California

WR Dwayne Jarrett, Southern California

WR Jeff Samardzija, Notre Dame

TE Zach Miller, Arizona State

OT Sam Baker, Southern California

OT Justin Blalock, Texas

OG Josh Beekman, Boston College

OG Ben Grubbs, Auburn

C Dan Mozes, West Virginia

DE Quentin Moses, Georgia

DE Gaines Adams, Clemson

DT Frank Okam, Texas

DT Jay Alford, Penn State

LB Paul Posluszny, Penn State

LB Patrick Willis, Ole Miss

LB Rufus Alexander, Oklahoma

CB Leon Hall, Michigan

CB Daymeion Hughes, California

S LaRon Landry, Louisiana State

S Brandon Meriweather, Miami

All-Purpose: Ted Ginn, Ohio State

KR Steve Breaston, Michigan

PR Quinton Jones, Boise State

K Mason Crosby, Colorado

P Ken Debauche, Wisconsin


QB Troy Smith, Ohio State

RB Kenny Irons, Auburn

RB Michael Bush, Louisville

WR Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

WR Sidney Rice, South Carolina

TE Greg Olsen, Miami

OT Levi Brown, Penn State

OT Joe Thomas, Wisconsin

OG Tim Duckworth, Auburn

OG Will Arnold, Louisiana State

C Ryan Kalil, Southern California

DE Dan Bazuin, Central Michigan

DE Adam Carriker, Nebraska

DT Brandon Mebane, California

DT Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State

LB H.B. Blades, Pittsburgh

LB Sam Olajubutu, Arkansas

LB Vince Hall, Virginia Tech

CB Antoine Cason, Arizona

CB David Irons, Auburn

S Michael Griffin, Texas

S Eric Weddle, Utah

All-Purpose: Darren McFadden, Arkansas

KR Felix Jones, Arkansas

PR Rafael Little, Kentucky

K Brandon Coutu, UGA

P Kody Bliss, Auburn