Eighth Annual HOGSPY Award Finalists Announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – From memorable plays and record-setting academic achievements to striving for championships and excellence in the classroom, the eighth annual HOGSPY Awards will celebrate the best-of-the-best among Razorback student-athletes, Spirit Squad, marching band and staff during the past year on May 1, 2019, at the Walton Arts Center.

The HOGSPY Awards recognizes the best in athletics, academics, leadership and serving learning and will be hosted by former Arkansas football and track & field standout and Foot Network star Eddie Jackson. Individual awards include male and female recipients in the categories of student-athlete of the year, rookie of the year and scholar-athlete of the year. Coach of the Year honors will also be bestowed on the year’s most outstanding coach in both men’s and women’s sports.

Team awards will recognize the academic teams of the year, the team performances of the year, the Hog Tough performances of the year and the top athletic teams of the year.

HOGSPY Award nominations are submitted by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, coaches and staff. Winners are determined by a vote of selected groups for each award.

This year’s finalists include:

Heart of the Hog

  • Carson Shaddy (Baseball)
  • Maria Fassi (Women’s Golf)
  • Morgan Burks-Magee (Women’s Track & Field)

Male Rookie of the Year

  • Isaiah Joe (Basketball)
  • Casey Martin (Baseball)
  • Heston Kjerstad (Baseball)

Female Rookie of the Year

  • Sarah Shaffer (Gymnastics)
  • Mary Haff (Softball)
  • Lauren Gregory (Track & Field)
  • Anna Hopkin (Swimming & Diving)

Hog Tough

  • Taylor Werner (Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
  • Men’s Golf – SEC Championships/NCAA Norman Regional
  • Lauren Gregory (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Men’s Tennis – vs. No. 14 Georgia

Comeback Student-Athlete

  • Carly Hoke (Soccer)
  • Sydney McGlone (Gymnastics)
  • Kelsey Herman (Women’s Track & Field)

Top Graduating Senior

  • Morgan Hartsell (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Tori Hoggard (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Micah Huckabee (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Lexi Jacobus (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Keiryn Swenson (Women’s Basketball)

Female Academic Team of the Year

  • Golf
  • Swimming & Diving
  • Cross Country

Male Academic Team of the Year

  • Tennis
  • Golf
  • Cross Country

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year

  • Tori Hoggard (Track & Field)
  • Lexi Jacobus (Track & Field)
  • Kaylee Benton (Golf)

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

  • John Winn (Track & Field)
  • Jeff Rogers (Track & Field)
  • Derek Jacobus (Track & Field)

Service Over Self

  • Stefani Doyle (Soccer)
  • Mike Woods (Football)
  • Marlena Pigliacampi (Swimming & Diving)

Team Lee Spencer Cup

  • Women’s Golf
  • Softball
  • Gymnastics

Individual Lee Spencer Cup

  • Michaela Burton (Gymnastics)
  • Sarah Shaffer (Gymnastics)
  • Marlena Pigliacampi (Swimming & Diving)

Standing Ovation

  • Ellie Breden (Soccer)
  • Grant Morgan (Football)
  • Tamara Kuykendall (Women’s Track & Field)

Top Play of the Year

  • Carson Shaddy – Baseball NCAA Super Regional Game 3
  • Kayla McKeon & Marissa Kinsey – SEC Soccer Semifinal
  • Malica Monk – Women’s Basketball vs. Tennessee
  • Danielle Gibson – Softball HR Cycle vs. SIU-Edwardsville

Team Performance of the Year

  • Women’s Basketball
  • Women’s Golf
  • Women’s Track & Field
  • Women’s Tennis

Female Team Coach of the Year

  • Courtney Deifel (Softball)
  • Shauna Taylor (Golf)
  • Lance Harter (Track & Field/Cross Country)

Male Team Coach of the Year

  • Chris Bucknam (Track & Field/Cross Country)
  • Dave Van Horn (Baseball)
  • Brad McMakin (Men’s Golf)

Female Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Maria Fassi (Women’s Golf)
  • Payton Chadwick (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Lexi Jacobus (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Brooke Schultz (Swimming & Diving)
  • Hailey Dirrigl (Volleyball)

Male Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Hjalte Froholdt (Football)
  • Daniel Gafford (Basketball)
  • Heston Kjerstad (Baseball)

Female Team of the Year

  • Softball
  • Indoor Track & Field
  • Basketball

Male Team of the Year

  • Baseball
  • Track & Field/Cross Country
  • Men’s Golf

Champion For Life

  • Maria Fassi (Women’s Golf)
  • Lexi Jacobus (Women’s Track & Field)
  • Tori Hoggard (Women’s Track & Field)
  • John Winn (Men’s Track & Field)

Outstanding Band Member

  • Christopher Miller

Outstanding Spirit Squad Member

  • Dylan Cook