Marshall Inducted Into Cotton Bowl Hall Of Fame

ARLINGTON, Texas – Former Arkansas quarterback Fred Marshall was one of six individuals inducted into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame during enshrinement ceremonies at AT&T Stadium on Friday.

In addition to Marshall, the honorees in the 10th Hall of Fame class who helped shape the tradition of the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic and college football history include Texas head coach Fred Akers, University of Southern California offensive tackle Tony Boselli, Southern Methodist University tailback Eric Dickerson, Notre Dame linebacker Bob Golic, and Cotton Bowl Athletic Association (CBAA) team selection chairman, the late Dan Petty.

Each member of the Hall of Fame Class received a personalized bronze statue in the likeness of a 1930s football player, the era in which the Classic was founded.

“Those extraordinary individuals whose unique talents formed the pageantry and prestige of one of college football’s most historic postseason bowl games are showcased in the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame,” said Jay McAuley, Chairman of the CBAA. “The Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame allows fans to revisit the rich tradition of outstanding college football played annually here in North Texas.”

Brad Sham, the Voice of the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic and the Dallas Cowboys, served as Master of Ceremonies for the enshrinement activities.

A judging committee comprised of media representatives and athletic administrators voted from a list of 60 nominees that included former players, coaches, bowl administrators and others who have made special contributions to the Classic.

Voting was based solely upon an individual’s performance in, or contribution to, the Classic rather than on the person’s overall college or professional career. An individual is eligible five years after their final Classic appearance.

A three-year letterman, Marshall assumed the starting quarterback role early in the 1964 campaign and made the most of his opportunity.

Marshall and the Razorbacks entered the 1965 Cotton Bowl against No. 6 Nebraska as undefeated Southwest Conference champions and ranked second in the wire service polls.

Arkansas jumped to a 3-0 first quarter lead, but Nebraska responded with a touchdown in the second quarter. The score remained the same until Marshall orchestrated a historic 80-yard drive that ended with Bobby Burnett’s go-ahead three-yard touchdown run late in the fourth quarter. The Razorbacks went on to win 10-7 and earned their first national championship. Marshall finished the contest 11 of 19 passing for 131 yards and earned co-MVP honors. In addition, he earned All-SWC honors and received the Houston Post Award as the SWC’s most outstanding player.

Marshall went on to play with Calgary of the Canadian Football League following his Razorback career. He was inducted to the University of Arkansas Sports Hall Of Honor in 2003. A year later, he was named to the SEC’s 2004 Football Legends Class. Most recently, he was among 11 inductees to the 2016 Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame on March 4.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.