Sprinkle Draws Preseason Praise

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Arkansas senior tight end Jeremy Sprinkle has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2016 John Mackey Award, the Friends of John Mackey announced Wednesday.

The John Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. Last season, consensus first-team All-American Hunter Henry became the second Razorback to win the award, following 2010 recipient D.J. Williams. Arkansas is the only school to produce multiple John Mackey Award winners.

Sprinkle returns to Arkansas after a 2015 season that saw him catch 27 passes for 389 yards and lead all Southeastern Conference (SEC) tight ends with six receiving touchdowns, good for a tie for ninth among Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) tight ends. All six scoring grabs came during the final seven games of the season. Against Mississippi State, Sprinkle equaled the program single-game record and tied for the most touchdowns by an FBS tight end in 2015 with three.

One of the most impressive parts of Sprinkle’s junior campaign was that 21 of his 27 receptions resulted in a first down or touchdown, for a conversion rate of 77.8 percent. In addition, 16 of his receptions went for at least 10 yards, including seven for 20 yards or more.

The 2016 John Mackey Award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The award recipient will be announced on Dec. 7 and then presented live on Dec. 8 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

For more information on Razorback Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.