DeBriyn Named 2016 SEC Baseball Legend

Tickets vs. Alabama

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Arkansas baseball head coach and current hall of famer Norm DeBriyn has been named one of four Southeastern Conference legends that were announced by the conference office Tuesday morning. The long-time coach of the Hogs will be recognized at the 2016 SEC Baseball Tournament May 24-29 at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium in Hoover, Alabama.

In a head coaching career that spanned four decades, DeBriyn took over as head coach of Razorback Baseball in 1970 at the age of 28. DeBriyn guided the Razorbacks to two Southwest Conference titles, one SEC title, one SEC Western Division title, 15 NCAA Tournament appearances and four NCAA College World Series appearances.

The Razorbacks had their best national finish in school history under DeBriyn in 1979 as they finished runner-up in the College World Series.

Upon his retirement, DeBriyn ranked 14th all-time in career wins among NCAA Division I head coaches with a record of 1,161-650-6 and a career winning percentage of .641. He still ranks as the University of Arkansas’ all-time victories leader.

In 33 years with Razorback baseball, DeBriyn coached 19 All-America selections, six Freshman All-Americans, 58 All-Conference selections and 48 All-Conference Tournament selections.

DeBriyn was named SEC Coach of the Year in 1999 and earned SWC Coach of the Year in 1978, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1989 and 1990. He was inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Razorback Hall of Honor in 1991.

Joining DeBriyn in this year’s class is Gabe Gross from Auburn, Cris Carpenter from Georgia and Scott Downs of Kentucky. DeBriyn is the second Razorback to be named an SEC Legend since the inaugural year in 2012 as former Razorback All-American Kevin McReynolds was part of that first class.

DeBriyn will be on hand to throw out the first pitch at Friday’s series opener between the Razorbacks and Alabama Crimson Tide at Baum Stadium. Game time is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CDT on SEC Network+.

For more information on Razorback Baseball, follow @RazorbackBSB on Twitter.