2021 HOGSPY Award Finalists Announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – From memorable plays and record-setting academic achievements to striving for championships and excellence in the classroom, the 10th annual HOGSPY Awards will celebrate the best-of-the-best among Razorback student-athletes, Spirit Squad, marching band and staff during the past year on Wednesday, April 28 at Bud Walton Arena.

The HOGSPY Awards recognizes the best in athletics, academics and leadership and will be hosted by Pat Bradley and Danyelle Musselman. Individual awards include male and female recipients in the categories of student-athlete of the year, rookie of the year and scholar-athlete of the year. Coach of the Year honors will also be bestowed on the year’s most outstanding coach in both men’s and women’s sports.

Team awards will recognize the academic teams of the year, the team performances of the year, the Hog Tough performances of the year and the top athletic teams of the year.

HOGSPY Award nominations are submitted by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, coaches and staff. Winners are determined by a vote of selected groups for each award.

This year’s finalists include:

Heart of the Hog

  • Braxton Burnside (SB)
  • Jackie Carr (WTEN)
  • Hunter Harrison (MTEN)
  • Gracie Ryan (VB)

Male Rookie of the Year

  • Jalen Catalon (FB)
  • Moses Moody (MBB)
  • Robert Moore (BSB)

Female Rookie of the Year

  • Taylor Ewert (WXC)
  • Taylor Head (VB)
  • Indianna Spink (WTEN)

Comeback Student-Athlete

  • Mary Haff (SB)
  • Rhayko Schwartz (MTF)
  • Estilla Mosena (S&D)

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

  • Jacob McLeod (MXC)
  • Luke Meade (MXC)
  • Grant Morgan (FB)
  • Mason Overstreet (MGLF)

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year

  • Jillian Gillen (VB)
  • Kayla McKeon (SOC)
  • Logan Morris (WXC)
  • Anna Podojil (SOC)

Male Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Moses Moody (MBB)
  • Grant Morgan (FB)
  • Julian Perico (MGLF)

Female Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Chelsea Dungee (WBB)
  • Lauren Gregory (WXC)
  • Anna Podojil (SOC)

Male Coach of the Year

  • Chris Bucknam (MTF)
  • Eric Musselman (MBB)
  • Sam Pittman (FB)

Female Coach of the Year

  • Lance Harter (WTF)
  • Mike Neighbors (WBB)
  • Jordyn Wieber (GYM)

Standing Ovation

  • Hudson Clark (FB)
  • Bailee McCorkle (WTF)
  • Reese Walters (MTF)

Champion and Razorback for Life

  • Jackie Carr (WTEN)
  • Sophia Carter (GYM)
  • Katie Izzo (WTF)
  • Alyssa Lemon (S&D)
  • Liz Pamphile (VB)

Hog Tough

  • Baseball Rally vs. Texas Tech
  • Football Victory against Tennessee
  • Men’s Cross Country NCAA Performances
  • Men’s Basketball Sweet 16 vs. Oral Roberts

Top Play

  • Brooke Matthews (WGLF) – Blessings record of 67
  • Davonte Davis (MBB) – Game-winning shot in Sweet 16 vs. Oral Roberts
  • Kennedy Hambrick (GYM) – Program-best 9.975 vault
  • Ryan Jackson (SB) – Diving catch against South Carolina
  • Treylon Burks (FB) – Touchdown catch against Ole Miss

Team Performance

  • Football Win at Mississippi State
  • Gymnastics Program Record Win vs. Auburn
  • Men’s Basketball Win Over Alabama
  • Volleyball Sweep of Texas A&M
  • Women’s Basketball Win over UConn
  • Women’s Tennis Win Over Vanderbilt
  • Women’s Track and Field NCAA Indoor National Championship