Academic Excellence Leads to First AVCA Honor

Buy Season Tickets | 2015 Schedule

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – For its collective excellence in the classroom, the University of Arkansas volleyball team has earned the program’s first AVCA Team Academic Award. The Razorbacks qualified for the award with a 3.405 cumulative grade-point average during the 2014-15 academic year. Arkansas opens its 2015 season Aug. 28 against McNeese State with first serve set for 7 p.m. (CT) at Barnhill Arena.

The team had 11 student-athletes earn all-conference academic honors this past year. Monica Bollinger, Barbara Dapic, Blakelee Dunagin, Liz Fortado, Meredith Hays, Breana Jones, Ana Sofia Jusino, Savannah Voelzke and Adrien Wohlschlaeger were all named to the SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll while Bailee Hankenson and Kori Ortiz earned spots on the SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll.

In addition to its individual accolades, the program earned its third-consecutive NCAA public recognition award for its APR success. The Razorbacks were honored for their standing among the top 10 percent of academic standing volleyball teams in the country.

When the Razorbacks return to the court, the roster will feature 12 returners from last year’s team including its three-player senior class featuring Bollinger, Fortado and All-SEC performer Chanell Clark-Bibbs. Beginning at $40, season tickets are on sale through the Razorback Ticket Center by calling 800-982-4647 or emailing Click HERE to purchase tickets online. Each purchase includes a free team knit hat.

The AVCA academic award, which initiated in 1992-93, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale (or 4.10 on a 5.0 scale).

For more information about Arkansas volleyball, follow @RazorbackVB on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat and Twitter.