Arkansas MGolf Wraps Fall Season at Stephens Cup

FAYETTEVILLE – The Arkansas men’s golf program will close the fall portion of its 2022-23 schedule Oct. 10-12 at the second annual Jackson T. Stephens Cup, played at the prestigious Seminole Golf Club (Juno Beach, Fla.) and televised live each day on GOLF Channel.

Three men’s teams return from last year’s inaugural event, held at The Alotian Club (Roland, Ark.), including team champion Notre Dame, runner-up Arkansas and third-place Florida State. Also, last year’s individual champion Fernandez de Oliveira is back as is runner-up Jackson (Notre Dame).

Overall, the men’s field will feature seven of the top 26 teams in the nation with #26 Arkansas, #14 Florida State, #13 North Carolina, #20 Notre Dame, #11 Oklahoma State, #19 Texas and #3 Stanford.

Individually, the men’s field has 13 of the top 50 on the World Amateur Golf Ranking including #4 Michael Thorbjornsen (Stanford), #6 Austin Greaser (North Carolina), #9 Travis Vick (Texas), #13 David Ford (North Carolina), #26 Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira (Arkansas), #28 Barclay Brown, #29 Brian Stark (Oklahoma State), #30 Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen (Oklahoma State), #36 Palmer Jackson (Notre Dame), #37 Christian Maas (Texas), #40 Bo Jin (Oklahoma State), #41 Frederik Kjettrup (Florida State) and #46 Karl Vilips (Stanford),

The women’s field will feature Arkansas, Duke, LSU, Stanford, South Carolina, Southern Cal and Wake Forest. The top three women on world amateur ranking – #1 Rose Zhang (Stanford), #2 Ingrid Lindblad (LSU) and #3 Rachel Heck (Stanford).

The Stephens Cup is a unique format and will feature seven men’s and seven women’s programs playing the same course at the same time. In addition, 12 stand-out players (six men and six women) from U.S Military Service Academies and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) will compete as individuals. The field will play 36 holes on Monday and 18 holes on Tuesday to determine individual champions and set the seeding for match play. The top six teams will face off in match play on Wednesday with the top two seeds playing for the Stephens Cup championship.

GOLF Channel Live Coverage:
Oct. 10 (Mon.) 2:30 – 6 pm (CT)
Oct. 11 (Tues.) 1:30 – 5 pm (CT)
Oct. 12 (Wed.) 1:30 – 5 pm (CT)

Jackson T. Stephens Cup
Oct. 10-11: Stroke Play
Oct. 12: Match Play
Host School: Florida State
Seminole Golf Club || Juno Beach, Fla.
7,280 yards || Par 72

#26 Arkansas
#14 Florida State
#13 North Carolina
#20 Notre Dame
#11 Oklahoma State
#19 Texas
#3 Stanford
6 selected Individuals from HBCU/U.S Military Service Academy programs

Razorback Lineup:
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira (1)
Julian Perico (2)
Manuel Lozada (3)
Segundo Oliva Pinto (4)
Matthew Griggs (5)

For more information on Arkansas Men’s Golf, follow @RazorbackMGolf on Twitter.