Arkansas Places 15 to SEC Academic Honor Roll

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Arkansas Razorbacks placed 15 of its freshmen student-athletes to the 2006 SEC Freshmen Academic Honor Roll, it was announced by the conference commissioner, Mike Slive, today.

A total of 490 freshmen student-athletes were named to the 2006 honor roll. The University of Florida led the conference with 61 freshmen named to the list. South Carolina and Tennessee were next with 50 honorees each.

In order to be named to the list, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above; must be on scholarship, a letterwinner or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit; and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

Track and field led the way for the Hogs with six of its’ freshmen (Chris Barnicle, Kenny Cormier, Jeremy Dodoson, Daniel LaCava, Scott MacPherson and Rio Reina) making the list. Baseball was right behind with five honorees (Taylor Ardoin, James Ewing, Nick Makris, Tommy McLain and Michael Wild). Basketball (Sean McCurdy), football (Colin Tucker), golf (Stephen Cox) and tennis (Blake Strode) each had one student-athlete named to the list.

For a complete list of the honorees, visit