Divers will not compete at NCAAs

FAYETTEVILLE— The University of Arkansas will not send any divers to the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships after the Razorbacks failed to qualify at the NCAA Zone “D” Diving Championships at the Student Rec Center Natatorium on the campus of Texas A&M University.

In Sunday’s platform event, sophomore Liana Bugslag placed sixth with a total score of 474.05. Bugslag qualified 11th for the finals with a preliminary score of 227.70.

“Liana dove very well from her first dive on,” Arkansas diving coach Dale Schultz said. “She dove very well the rest of the way but could make up the difference from missing the first dive. I am very glad that she fought back and did not give up. She just did not have enough to recover from the hole she started in after that first dive.

“Now we come home Fayetteville, take a week or two off, and start getting ready for next season.”

Fellow sophomore Alex Roman placed 17th on the platform with a preliminary score of 187.85.

Missouri’s Christina Gailey won the platform competition with a total score of 521.90. Southern Methodist’s Audra Engenolf and Texas’ Diana Wilcox also qualified for NCAAs.

The NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships run Thursday through Sunday in West Lafayette, Ind., hosted by Purdue University. Swimmers Yi-Ting Siow, Leah Pierce and Jamie Marks will represent the Razorbacks at the three-day event.