Walt Beazley

Ellis Named to Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Junior Brooks Ellis is listed as one of 80 players named to the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List, as it was announced Wednesday morning. The award honors college football’s top community servant.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida. The Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Last fall, Ellis was recognized as the SEC’s Football Community Service Player of the Week after handing out thanksgiving food to low income families the day before Thanksgiving at the local Boys & Girls Club, picking up trash at local parks and state highways with his fraternity, speaking to underprivileged children about leadership and the importance of education and volunteering to help with the local Special Olympics in Fayetteville.

Ellis played in 11 games last season and ranked second on the team in total tackles with 72, while also forcing two fumbles and recording two interceptions, both tying for the team lead. The Fayetteville, Arkansas product has already been named to the 2015 Butkus Award Watch List, an honor given to the best linebacker in the country.

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and finalists will be announced on November 24.  Formal announcement of the winner will be on December 8 at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City. The presentation of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 47th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 12, 2016 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

2015 Preseason Watch Lists
Maxwell Award – Jonathan Williams, Alex Collins
John Mackey Award – Hunter Henry
Outland Trophy – Denver Kirkland, Sebastian Tretola
Rimington Trophy – Mitch Smothers
Butkus Award – Brooks Ellis
Wuerffel Trophy – Brooks Ellis

For more information on Arkansas Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.