Fernandez de Oliveira on Preseason Haskins Award Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ga. – Razorback men’s golf All-American Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira is 1 of 25 players listed on the Preseason Haskins Award Watch List presented by Stifel, it was announced today.

Fernandez de Oliveira was on the Haskins Award Watch List last season as well after winning the Jackson T. Stephens Cup then winning the South America Amateur and finishing runner-up at the Latin America Amateur. This summer, he placed fifth at the European Amateur, was runner-up to fellow honoree Austin Greaser (North Carolina) at the Western Amateur and reached match play at the U.S. Amateur.

Fernandez de Oliveira is ranked #21 in the world and the #1 amateur from South America. He is playing with Razorback teammate Segundo Oliva Pinto at the World Team Amateur Championship this week in Paris, France.

Since its formation in 1971, the Haskins Commission has been devoted to amateur golf and the presentation of the Haskins Award. This coveted trophy honors the year’s outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, an obscure club pro that spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The commission oversees the voting conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media.

Preseason Haskins Award Watch List  (listed alphabetically):

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
Fred Biondi, Florida
Michael Brennan, Wake Forest
Ben Carr, Georgia Southern
Ricky Castillo, Florida
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas
David Ford, North Carolina
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
Dylan Menante, North Carolina
William Mouw, Pepperdine
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Brian Stark, Oklahoma State
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Hugo Townsend, Ole Miss
Travis Vick, Texas
Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
Jiri Zuska, Louisville


For more information on Arkansas Men’s Golf, follow @RazorbackMGolf on Twitter.