Hogs at 112th NCAA Championship

TOLEDO, Ohio-The No. 10 University of Arkansas men’s golf team will join the nation’s top amateur golfers who have descended upon the Inverness Club for the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships May 26-30. The Razorbacks have had an impressive season, placing second in the last five tournaments of the season including the SEC Championship and South Central Regional. Head Coach Brad McMakin became the first Arkansas coach to take the honor of SEC Coach of the Year. The Hogs’ last appearance at the NCAA Championship took place in 2005, with a 26th place finish. It will be the second time in the history of the tournament that the University of Toledo has hosted the NCAA Championships. The Rockets previously hosted 65 years ago in 1944.The Inverness Club was established in 1903 and features a par-71, 7,255-yard course. Several high profile events have taken place at the course including one U.S. Senior Open and two PGA Championships.This year marks the first year since the 1965 Championship that the winner will be awarded the title via match play rather than by total strokes. The top eight teams after 54 holes stroke play will advance to the quarterfinals and semifinals, with the championship matched set for Saturday May 30th. During the match-play portion of the championships, each match will be worth one point with all five players participating. The first team to win three points within the team match will advance or, in the case of the championship match, be declared the national champion.Following are the Top 5 teams and one individual from six regionals on May 14-16 that have qualified for the NCAA Championships: 

West Regional (Lake Merced Golf Club, Daly City, CA)
1. Arizona State (Pac-10)
2. Oregon (Pac-10)
3. Texas A&M (Big 12)
4. San Diego (WCC)
5. Southern Cal (Pac-10)
Individual – Brady Johnson (BYU)Northeast Regional (Galloway Golf Club, Galloway, NJ)
1. Alabama (SEC)
2. Tennessee (SEC)
3. Illinois (Big 10)
4. Virginia (ACC)
5. Wake Forest (ACC)
Individual – Kyle Stanley (Clemson) – Won on 2nd playoff hole

South Central Regional (Karsten Creek, Stillwater, OK)
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12)
2. Arkansas (SEC)
3. Chattanooga (Southern)
T4. Northwestern (Big Ten)
T4. TCU (Mountain West)
Individual – Cody Paladino (Baylor) – Won on 2nd playoff holeSoutheast Regional (Redtail Golf Club, Sorrento, FL)
1. UCF (Conference USA)
T2. Georgia (SEC)
T2. Arizona (Pac-10)
T2. South Carolina (SEC)
5. Iowa (Big 10)
Individual – Cory Nagy (Charlotte)Southwest Regional (Univ. of Texas Golf Club, Austin, TX)
1. Florida (SEC)
2. Texas Tech (Big 12)
3. Texas (Big 12)
4. Stanford (Pac-10)
5. Michigan (Big Ten)
Individual – Hugues Joannes (Lamar)

Central Regional (The Club at Olde Stone, Alvaton, KY)
1. UCLA (Pac-10)
2. Washington (Pac-10)
T3. Georgia Tech (ACC) 
T3. Ohio State (Big Ten)
5. Duke (ACC)
Individual – Matt Hill (N.C. StateThe Razorbacks will be begin tournament play on Tuesday, teeing off from the 10th hole at 12:59 with Washington and Tennessee. Live scoring will be available via golfstat.com. Logon to ArkansasRazorbacks.com for more coverage.