John McDonnell Honored on Final Day of Penn Relays

PHILADELPHIA, Penn. Arkansas Razorback track and field concluded competition at the 114th running of Penn Relays on Saturday. The Hogs fell short of winning a wagon wheel for just the third time since 1983.

Arkansas finished ninth in the championship 4xMile Relay. Michael Chinchar, Daniel LaCava, Alex McClary and Andy McClary combined for a time of 16:40.01.

Kyle Komarek opened the day for the Hogs and finished 11th in the javelin with a toss of 184-6.

During the Penn Relays Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, Arkansas head coach John McDonnell was honored by the Penn Relays Association for his 20+ years of competition at the event. The Razorbacks made their 24th appearance at Penn Relays this weekend. Arkansas has competed in the event every year since 1983, with the exception of 2001 when the Razorbacks competed at the Drake Relays.

Arkansas has a rich tradition at the Penn Relays. During their 23-year tenure at the meet, the Razorbacks have brought home 42 coveted wagon wheels. Only three times since 1983 has Arkansas not won at least one event at Penn Relays. Michigan has also won 42 Penn Relays titles. Only Penn and Villanova have won more.

Here is the breakdown of Arkansas’ relay titles: 4×100 (1), 4×200-meter relay (1), 4×400-meter relay (1), 4×800-meter relay (2), 4xMile/1,500 (19), SMR (2), DMR (15) and Shuttle Hurdle Relay (1).

The Razorbacks will host the Arkansas Twilight, Friday, May 2, as a final tune up for the SEC Championships next month.

For complete results of Penn Relays, visit