Mallett and Smith on Maxwell Watch List

University of Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett and tailback Michael Smith were among the fifty-five players who were named by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski to the 2009 Watch List for the 73rd Maxwell Award, which is presented to the Outstanding Player in College Football.

Arkansas was one of 12 teams nationally to have multiple players on the list and Mallett, who is a redshirt sophomore, was one of the 10 underclassmen that were recognized.

Before transferring to Arkansas, Mallett played in 11 games at Michigan and recorded a 3-0 mark as a starter with wins over Notre Dame, Penn State and Minnesota.

Smith, a redshirt senior, is considered by many to be the top running back in the Southeastern Conference. He has rushed for 1,622 yards and 14 touchdowns in his career. He also has 37 career receptions for 366 yards and two touchdowns.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on Nov. 4 and three finalists for each award will be announced Nov. 23. The winner of the 2009 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 10, 2009. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Maxwell Football Club, founded in 1935, is based in Philadelphia, and is the oldest football club in the United States.