McKeon, Morgan nominated for H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Kayla McKeon of the Arkansas soccer team and Grant Morgan of the Razorback football team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Arkansas.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2021 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on May 18.

Highlights of Arkansas’ nominees include:

Kayla McKeon, Arkansas, Soccer Major: Industrial Engineering

  • Earned her B.S. in Industrial Engineering, graduating with a cumulative GPA of 3.602
  • Pursuing a M.S. in Engineering Management
  • SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2017, 2018, 2020
  • All-SEC Second Team, 2020
  • All-SEC Tournament Team, 2020
  • United Soccer Coaches Third Team All-Southeast Region, 2018
  • SEC All-Freshman Team, 2016
  • All-SEC Tournament Team, 2016
  • Started in 79 of her 82 career matches
  • Career stat line includes 28 goals, 17 assists and 73 points, all ranking in the top 10 of program history
  • Put away 12 career game-winners
  • After coming off a season-ending ankle injury in 2019, she led Arkansas to its second consecutive SEC regular season title and fifth-straight appearance in the SEC Tournament title game

Grant Morgan, Arkansas, Football Major: Undergraduate – Kinesiology; Masters of Science in Operations Management

  • Four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
  • Three-time member of the Dean’s List, Fall 2016, Spring 2017, Spring 2019
  • Two-time member of the Chancellor’s List Spring 2017, Spring 2019
  • Burlsworth Trophy Finalist, 2020
  • Second-Team Walter Camp All-America, 2020 – only the 16th Razorback in program history and first since 2015 to earn honor
  • Second-Team AFCA All-America, 2020
  • Third-Team Phil Steele All-America, 2020
  • First-Team All-SEC – Coaches, Associated Press, 2020
  • Led FBS in 2020 with 12.33 tackles per game in 2020 and ranked third nationally with 111 total tackles despite playing in just nine games
  • Played in 43 games in his career with 209 tackles and 16.5 tackles for loss

The SEC provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May.