Nutt and McFadden Honored by League Coaches with SEC Individual Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt and Razorbacks’ tailback Darren McFadden earned individual awards from the Southeastern Conference, on Wednesday, as the duo captured coach of the year and player of the year honors. Wednesday’s honors were the second round of awards for Nutt and McFadden this week after the Associated Press bestowed the same accolades on Monday.

Nutt captured coach of the year honors for the second time in his nine-year stint with the Razorbacks. He garnered the same award in 2001. McFadden tallied the first offensive player of the year honor by a Razorback since Arkansas entered the conference in 1992. Former offensive tackle Shawn Andrews is the only other UA player or coach to win an SEC individual award. Andrews won the Jacobs Trophy, presented annually to the league’s best blocker, in 2002 and 2003.

Nutt was selected by his fellow conference coaches after leading the Razorbacks to a 10-3 record this season. Arkansas captured an outright SEC Western Division title and earned a berth in its third SEC Championship Game in school history. The Hogs won 10-consecutive games and tied Florida for the best league record (7-1) among SEC squads.

McFadden has collected nearly every award imaginable thus far after a record-breaking season. He was a unanimous selection by SEC coaches for the top player award in the league. The Little Rock, Ark., native has rushed for a UA record 1,558 yards this season earning a school-record tying seven 100-yard rushing games. His total is the ninth best rushing campaign in SEC history. McFadden leads the SEC and ranks 10th in the nation with 119.85 yards per game. He has already been named to multiple All-America teams and is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award.

In other awards announced on Wednesday, Ole Miss’ linebacker Patrick Willis was honored as the SEC Defensive Player of the Year. Auburn placekicker earned SEC Special Teams Player of the Year honors. Florida’s Percy Harvin claimed freshman of the year recognition while Tennessee’s Arron Sears secured the Jacobs Blocking Trophy. Kentucky’s Hayden Lane was named as the SEC’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The final round of SEC awards will be announced on Thursday when the league announces the Freshman All-SEC squad.