O-Line Named Joe Moore Award Finalist

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Paving the way for the Razorbacks’ SEC-best sixth 200-yard rushing game in league play during the regular season finale win over Missouri, the Arkansas offensive line has been named one of six finalists for the Joe Moore Award, announced on Monday by the Joe Moore Foundation for Teamwork.

In its first year, the Joe Moore Award is given to the top offensive line unit in college football. The Joe Moore Award will annually recognize the toughest, most physical offensive line unit in the country and is the only current award that will honor that unit.

Under the direction of associate head coach Sam Pittman, the five-man line of seniors Mitch Smothers (Center) and Sebastian Tretola (Left Guard), juniors Denver Kirkland (Left Tackle) and Dan Skipper (Right Tackle) along with sophomore Frank Ragnow (Right Guard) caught the attention of the nation when they donned the cover of the 2015 Arkansas football media guide. The group has started all 12 games and been on the field together for over 800 plays this season.

Led by its offensive line unit that has a combined 134 career starts, Arkansas led the SEC in scoring during conference games at 34.4 points per game, highlighted by a program single-season record four games of 50 points or more. The Razorbacks currently lead the SEC in fewest sacks allowed for the third straight year under Pittman, helping senior quarterback Brandon Allen become just the third player in program history to throw for 3,000 yards and equal an SEC record with seven passing touchdowns against Mississippi State.

Skipper, Smothers and Tretola have all earned SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors this season, making Arkansas the only program with three different winners. Junior running back Alex Collins has put together one of the best rushing seasons in program history with 1,392 yards and 17 touchdowns, including a program record six 100-yard performances in SEC action. Arkansas’ ability to control the line of scrimmage helped the Razorbacks lead the SEC in time of possession (34:36) in league games.

The winner of the inaugural Joe Moore Award will be announced by Friday, December 11, and will be the recipient of what is expected to be the largest trophy in college football history. The actual trophy is expected to weigh for than 350 pounds

Joe Moore Award Finalists (6)
Michigan State
Notre Dame